The Alchemist: your Personal Legend and Fall shoes that should be in your closet

Cardigan (Gap). Jeans (Gap). T-shirt (Gap). Flats (Aldo). Scarf (Old). Watch (Michael Kors). Bracelet (Etsy).

I wore this outfit for my son’s second day of preschool. Today after I got him settled, I left for 40 mins. It was a big deal for both Aiden and I, but we did amazing, especially Aiden. He didn’t even shed a tear, unlike Mama, although I didn’t cry as much as I thought I would. Thursday will be the big test as it will be 2.5 hrs without Mama. If today is any indication of how Thursday will be, then it will be a good day. I’m keeping my fingers crossed :).

In the past, I have not been a huge fan of the color pink, but I admit that the older I get, the more I am starting to like it, and wear it. So don’t ever rule any color from of your wardrobe.

I’m trying to belt more of my outfits and I was hoping to wear this  one today, but I needed to add a few more holes to it. Below are pictures of me with/without the belt. Let me know what you think? Belt or no belt?

And yes my hair is different. I got it cut yesterday and my hair dresser flat ironed it for me. I used to do it everyday, but with Aiden I don’t have time. Its a nice treat to have it straightened.

Recently for my book club, we read “The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho. This was my second time reading the book and then yesterday I read it again. I’ll start by giving a quick synopsis of the book, and then explain why I find this book to be so profound.

The book begins with the main character, Santiago, who is a shepherd, looking to find the Merchant so he can sell him some wool, and to see his daughter again. On the way to the Merchant, Santiago has a reoccurring dream of a child showing him that he will find treasure at the Egyptian Pyramids. Santiago is a firm believer in following his heart’s desire. Instead of becoming a priest as his parent’s wished, he wanted to travel and see the world, therefore with his parent’s support, he became a shepherd. On his way to the Merchant, he stops at a Gypsy who tells him that for 1/10 of his treasure she will tell him where he can find it. She tells him the treasure he is seeking can be found in Egypt. After his fortune telling experience, he meets the King of Salem who tells him about following your Personal Legend. He tells Santiago that his Personal Legend is to find his treasure at the Pyramids. After selling some of his sheep to the King of Salem, Santiago decides to seek out his Personal Legend. Through many obstacles and set backs, Santiago finds his treasure but most importantly finds love. Like the Alchemist said in the book, its not about changing copper into gold, its about the process. For Santiago the process of finding the treasure was his Personal Legend.

The reason why this book resonates so much with me is because I believe if we all followed our Personal Legend, we would be happier. In the Introduction, Paulo Coelho discusses our personal calling. He defines it as “whenever we do something that fills us with enthusiasm, we are following our legend” (p. vi). (Please forgive me for my referencing, I am a bit out of practice). He continues to explain why we don’t all follow our dreams and  attributes it to overcoming four obstacles: 1. what we want to do is impossible; 2. love, that those who truly love us will support us; 3. fear of the challenges we will encounter;  and 4. fear of realizing our dream (p. viii-viiii). I know that at times when I have expressed an interest in trying something new, some people in my life have automatically said “its too hard”, “that I shouldn’t try”.  Think about it for one second, I’m sure we can all relate to the four obstacles Paulo is referring to. I believe that many times we don’t follow our passion for fear of failing. The Alchemist tells Santiago “that the fear of suffering is worse than the suffering itself” (p. 130). We psych ourselves out and convince ourselves that its too hard, when all we need to do is realize that if we are truly following our dream “all the universe conspires to help that person realize his dream” (p. 114).

I know this to be true because when I was in my third year of Sciences, I wasn’t happy, and realized that I needed to change from my general Science degree. At the time I was working in a physio clinic. It got me thinking about how I like working with people. I didn’t want to be a physiotherapist, but I did want to do something that involved working/helping people. Unbeknownst to me, I applied to the Faculty of Nursing the day before the deadline. I was one of the last people accepted into the program. I truly believe that it was meant to be. I love helping people. I find no greater satisfaction then helping others, whether its through nursing, or making cupcakes for an inner city school, or donating food and clothes to the less fortunate.

Paulo Coelho does an amazing job of taking this wonderful story of Santiago and personalizing it. You can relate to his yearning to find the Merchant’s daughter and then again when he meets Fatima. I love how “innocently” Paulo describes their first encounter: “What the boy felt at that moment was that he was in the presence of the only woman in his life, and that, with no words, she recognized the same thing” (p. 93). I love how pure their meeting was, and how they knew they were each others soul mate. It made me melt just thinking about it, and reminded me of how I felt when I first met my husband. Fatima understood that Santiago had to continue on to find his treasure, and only then would he be free to be hers. She supported him, and I believe that more people would pursue their passion if they had the support of their partner.

This is an allegory of life, of how we all should be living our lives. I understand that for many the reality of pursuing their dream is difficult or almost impossible. Many people dream of becoming a singer or actor, but they can’t quite their day job because they need to support their family. I completely and totally understand that. I feel like there can be a happy medium, and I also believe in what Paulo said, about how if you want something, the universe will conspire to ensure to you get it. I know it’s not easy and I struggle with that each and every day. I think about what my Personal Legend is all the time. I believe that I am following it, maybe not as much as I would like, but its a work in progress. I also feel fulfilled and content when I am following my heart.

I believe this book should be a must read for kids in junior high and high school. Paulo makes Santiago’s character very relatable, and almost child-like, which is why I feel like many people not just adults, can relate to the story. As young adults, we constantly struggle with what to do, as does Santiago. I know that when my son gets old enough I will be giving him this book. It may not resonate with him just then but someday I’m hoping it will. When he finds himself discouraged and confused I hope he reflects on “The Alchemist” and draws inspiration from Santiago. What I want more then anything is for my son to follow his heart, his passion.

From “The Alchemist” to Fall must have shoes. My fashion tip for this blog is to go out and get yourself some great shoes for Fall. Here are my picks:

1. Booties, yes I keep posting them but they are amazing and incredibly versatile.

2. A great pair of high heeled boots (Aldo)3. Riding boots

4. High heel Booties for a night out on the town

5. Patent shoes: nude or black or both 🙂

6. Great flats

7. Rain boots: a must living in the lower Mainland. I love mine:) They were a much needed Christmas present.

8. Wedges

9. Great pair of Uggs or a cheaper version (Old Navy) 🙂

May this blog inspire you to read “The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho, to follow your Personal Legend and to embrace Fall with a great pair of shoes and/boots.

Today marks the 11th Anniversary of 9/11. The victims and survivors are in my heart and prayers. I want to thank each and every soldier who has fought for us. George I think about you everyday. RIP my friend 1981-2009, you are missed.

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Book review, Fashion, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Alchemist: your Personal Legend and Fall shoes that should be in your closet

  1. That peachy pink is so pretty on you, and what a fun change with your hair! I love the Alchemist, and you’re inspiring me to re-visit it. I love Paolo Coelho’s introduction to the book almost as must as I love the book itself, and think it is so inspiring! And I totally hear you on the personal legend being a work-in-progress – I’ve had to re-evaluate and take a hard look at some things lately. Hope you are having an awesome week!

    • Thanks so much Bonnie. I totally agree with you about the introduction being as good or even better than the story. I love how its a quick read and how it is a very relatable story. Its been a busy week with everything just starting up for my son. Each day is filled with a new activity that requires no parent participation. Aiden has handled each class so well, so lets hope the rest of the week continues as well. Enjoy the rest of your week.

  2. You look great 🙂 The more mom’s blogs I read, the more I can’t wait to be a mom!!!

Leave a comment