First day of preschool: what this mama learned and fall jackets

Thanks everyone for all the wonderful, positive comments on my last post. I love getting them, so please don’t be shy πŸ™‚

I want to dedicate this blog to my son, to all the kids facing new challenges, to the parents of those kids and to the amazing teachers. Today my son started preschool. It is a monumental milestone for us, considering my son has never been to daycare. For the past month I’ve been trying to prepare him for this day; explaining that he is a big boy, and will be going to school; that he will have nice teachers teaching him amazing things, and meeting and making new friends. All in all the first day went well. It was only one hour and the parents were asked to stay. He made himself quite at home, once he saw they had a play kitchen and a train table. Below are some pictures of this emotional and inspiring day.

I tried really hard not to cry ( I really did), but once I gave him a hug it was all over. I’m so proud of my little guy. He is so brave to try something new, which leads me to the title of this blog: what I learned. What I’ve learned over the past few weeks is that our children are far braver than we give them credit for. We are constantly putting them into new and unfamiliar situations and expecting them to adjust. Last week, my son had his first dentist appointment. Most of us hate going to the dentist and dread every minute of it, yet we ask our children to do it. Aiden did great. The Tooth Fairy cleaned his teeth, which helped put him at ease, plus she had a really cool magic wand πŸ™‚ Next week will mark a week full of firsts: Aiden’s first gymnastics, music and dance class without Mama participating. Not to mention his first 2.5 hrs of preschool without Mama. I realized thinking of this week how we really don’t give our kids enough credit for their bravery. Every day we ask them to try something new and yet do we? They are uninhibited and lack fear, whereas us adults, not so much. When faced with a new situation or environment, we weigh all the pros and cons and think about everything that could go wrong. Our kids don’t do that, they just jump in head first and exceed our expectations.

My son Aiden is one of the bravest people I know. He tried the roller coaster this weekend at the PNE, without any hesitation. After one turn, he realized it wasn’t for him, but he still tried it. That’s more than I can say for most adults. He has taught me to laugh more, love more, to be more silly and to live life more. He lives his life moment to moment, not thinking of the past or fearing the future, but living in the present. So I thank you my dear, sweet Aiden for teaching me how to be brave and how to be more carefree like you. You inspire me every day to be a better person, mom, wife and friend. As I am writing this, I am overcome with emotion. I never thought I could love someone as much or be as proud of someone, as much as I am of you. I hope someday you will read this and realize how proud of you we are.

As a thank you for being such a brave little boy, this Mama spoiled him with his favorite treats: french fries, ice cream and hot chocolate.

Everyone should be treated and recognized for trying something new and going out of their comfort zone. I think if we did, more people would do it!!! So take some time to thank your little person for being brave and trying new things; to cherish them and try to be more fearless like them.

Now that the tears have dried onto my fashion tip: fall jackets. Living here in the lower Mainland we can pretty much get away with wearing fall jackets almost all Winter. December and January are usually the exceptions. The biggest trends for fall are boyfriend blazers (which I have already done), structured jackets, trench coats, leather coats, jean jackets, military inspired jackets, and a Herringbone/Houndstooth jacket. What I love about each and everyone of these jackets is that they can dress up jeans and a t-shirt, or a turtleneck with skinny jeans. Below are pictures of different great jackets for the fall.

You can’t go wrong with a structure jacket. I love my brown cord jacket and my Little Red Riding hood jacket.

Trench Coats: you can try basic black, your classic trench or one with some color.

The biker look is very “in” for fall, especially when it comes to leather jackets.

Metallica/Biker chic!!!! πŸ™‚

A great denim jacket can go a long way. I’ve had mine for 7 years and recently rediscovered it. I love it. It’s a great layering piece, especially over a cardigan or sweater for the fall.

Military inspired jackets have been around for a while now. I’m wearing one that I would describe as a feminine inspired military jacket.

Herringbone and Houndstooth are very popular for fall. This is a great one from H & M for a fabulous price $49.95.

May this blog inspire you to recognize how courageous our children are, let them know how proud of them you are, to try something new and to find a fall jacket that you will love.

Happy Thursday Everyone!!!! :

Have a wonderful weekend πŸ™‚

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Fashion, life, motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to First day of preschool: what this mama learned and fall jackets

  1. gpicone says:

    Great post! Lots of great photos and info!

  2. Renee Bunbury says:

    Hey Agi,
    Love your blog! I always enjoyed your company in school and now I enjoy reading your blogs! I am sending my youngest to her first day of Kindergarten tomorrow. She has spent two years already in preschool for speech development (she has a moderate speech delay). She is quite the little girl, so independent, but yet it’s so hard to believe that I only get to spend afternoons with her for one more year and then by next year all the kids will be in school full time. It goes quickly, I know you’ve probably heard that before! But I’m sure you can relate. It it looks like you are enjoying every moment with Aiden. I always knew you’d be a great mom, he’s a lucky little boy.
    On a totally separate topic, you have inspired me to take a look through my closet and start wearing some of my “gems” that seem to take a back burner to constant Lululemon (nothing wrong with Lululemon but sometimes I want to feel a little more fashionable and pretty)! So thanks to you I’ve been inspired to change it up this fall and put a little more effort and fashion back into my wardrobe – thanks!!!
    Renee

    • Hi Renee,

      I read your comment late last night and thought it better to write back in the morning when I can think straight. But with a kid can you ever really think straight? I’m so glad you like my blog and that you found some fashion inspiration. I love writing my blog and reading people’s comments. I’ve found it to be quite cathartic. I know I feel much better when I dress up and make an effort. I found it especially hard when I had Aiden and I felt like a truck had hit me. I made a conscience effort to not wear Lulu’s every day. But that’s hard to do.
      I hope you guys have a great first day of Kindergarten tomorrow. Yes you are so right, it goes by way too quickly. I can’t believe Aiden is almost 3.5 yrs old and is in preschool. We are both ready for him to go though. Next Tuesday and Thursday will be rough as Tuesday is still only 1 hr, but I’m going to leave and sit in the parking lot, to give him a chance to adjust to me not being there and then Thursday is the true test. I’m sure I’ll be sobbing in my car. I can’t believe how big your kids are!!! It just seems like yesterday that we were drudging through Nursing.
      I’m trying to be a good mom and some days I succeed and others not so much, as any mom can relate. But yes I love being Aiden’s mom and we are hoping to have another one just as soon as things get settled with my husband’s work.
      Take care Renee. I’m hoping to make a summer road trip to Edmonton, would love to see you. Maybe we could have a little nursing reunion.

      You are so welcome,
      Agi:)

  3. I got teary eyed reading this. AND I don’t even have kids!!! I am in BIG trouble. I can only imagine the excitement and anxiety that you were feeling. You’re fam is beautiful Agi! πŸ™‚

    xo

  4. Ooppps I meant your* πŸ™‚

  5. Thank you Amy. I think so too and yes you are in big trouble πŸ™‚ Kids are the best thing in the world.

  6. Karen Ceraldi says:

    Love the pink coat! Am I allowed to say that??? lol

  7. Karen Ceraldi says:

    You are right though, our boys and all children are truly courageous.

  8. fashboulevard says:

    totally obsessed with the leather jacket. Adore this post, love. If you get a sec, I’d love if you’d check out my latest outfit post and part one of my NYFW experience, including my lunch to discuss my LaurenConrad.com style column and meeting the fabulous Olivia Palermo… Eeek.<3

    http://www.fashboulevard.blogspot.com

  9. Your son is adorable ! I’m sooo gonna cry when mine start school next year ! But yes they are more brave then we give them credit for !

    Love those jackets options !

    My Blog – A Pretty Nest

    • Thank you Marie-Eve. He officially starts by himself on Thursday. Tomorrow is another 1 hr day, but I’m hoping to leave him for 30 mins while I sit in the car. Trying to get him used to me not being there. He had his first gymnastics class today without Mama participating and he was amazing. He did so well. I’m hoping the rest of the week goes as smoothly as today. I have to say I’m going to have a glass of 2 of red wine on Friday.

      Agi:)

  10. Tara says:

    What an exciting time for you and your family! I’m sure your son will do great, and you will get used to everything πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much Tara. We are both getting used to it. Routine definitely helps. I could actually leave him this past thursday without a fuss out of him. It made me feel good to be able to leave him and know that he is ok. Plus they have a webcam I can check if I am worried.

      agi:)

Leave a Reply

