What I know for sure and how to wear your favorite Summer clothes during Fall

Cardigan and shirt (Gap). Scarf (Old). Leggings (Jacob). Toms (Toms). Watch (Michael Kors). Bracelets (Poshlocket, Poshlocket).

This is what I wore today to drop my son off for his first day of 2.5 hrs of Preschool without Mama. He did amazing. I left while the teacher was reading him a story and he never even looked back. I shed, yet again, a few tears and then realized that I have 2 hrs to myself. I spent that time cleaning the house and running errands, but it was so nice to have some time to myself. His preschool has a webcam, so I did check in, and found that he was doing fine. When I went to pick him up, he was all smiles and having the time of his life playing on the playground. I am emotionally exhausted. Everyday thus far has been something new for him, which required “no parental participation”. I’m relieved that it was more stressful for me than for him. I’m looking forward to enjoying some cocktails this Saturday. This Mama sure needs it.

About a month ago, a friend of mine interviewed me for an on-line mom’s site. It hasn’t come out yet, but I’ll post the article and link once its out. In the article, my friend asked me: “What do I know for sure?” What a thought provoking question!!!! I’ve never thought about what I know for sure. Have you? It’s a short list, let me tell you. Since her interview I realized that I know a few more things for sure. Here they are:

1. I believe in love and in finding your soul mate.

2. Life is too short, so you need to enjoy it ( I need to follow this more!!! :)).

3. Relationships are hard, especially a marriage, and you need to constantly foster it and work at it.

4. Playing with my son and watching him grow is the best thing in the world.

5. I don’t know everything. I’m constantly learning new things. My son is the best teacher.

6. We need more love in this world.

7. We need to let our kids go, to flourish and develop into their own person. I learned this, this week, watching my son participate in activities all by himself.

8. My son’s smile and laugh makes my soul sing. 🙂

9. Being a parent is the hardest yet most rewarding job in the world.

10. Potty training is a bitch!!!!

11. You can read as many books as you want about parenting, sleep training and potty training, but your child will do it, in their own good time. NO you are not a bad parent if your child isn’t exactly textbook. I learned this the hard way. I read every parenting book, potty training and sleep training book and it was for nothing, because when Aiden was ready to do those things, then he did it. He is stubborn and he does things in his own good time. I had to get over the “I’m a bad mother” because he won’t sleep through the night or isn’t potty trained yet. The books are great guides, but they sure know how to make you feel like crap. So moms and dads out there, read everything with a grain of salt and just do your best!!!! In the end that’s all we can do.

I know that one of my biggest fashion dilemmas come with the change of seasons. I have my favorite clothing items that I have to sadly pack away until the following year. I decided that this year I’m going to keep wearing my favorite Summer pieces during Fall and hopefully Winter. So here are some ways of wearing your favorite summer items during Fall.

I love my jean skirt and how versatile it is. So put on a pair of leggings or tights, add a cardigan, pair it with some boots and you have yourself a Fall outfit.

Cardigan (Jacob). T-Shirt (Gap). Jean Skirt (Gap). Necklace (Etsy). Tights (Jacob). Boots (Browns). Bracelets (Poshlocket, Poshlocket). Watch (Michael Kors).

Another way of wearing a jean skirt is pairing it with a great sweater and ankle boots.

Sweater (Gap). Jean Skirt (Gap). Tights (Jacob). Boots (Fergalicious c/o Sterling). Necklace (Banana Republic). Bracelets (Poshlocket, Poshlocket). Watch (Michael Kors).

My next favorite Summer piece is a red skirt. Put it with a turtleneck and some boots and you are ready to go. After I took the picture, I realized that adding a skinny belt would be a great touch.

Skirt (Gap). Turtleneck (R W & Co.). Tights (Jacob). Boots (Browns).

Add a sweater, jean jacket and ankle booties for a more casual look.

Jean Jacket and Skirt (Gap). Sweater (Old Navy). Necklace (Banana Republic). Bracelets (Poshlocket, Poshlocket). Boots (Fergalicious c/o Sterling).

Take your favorite crop pant, add a sweater, a flat and a jean jacket.

Sweater (Jacob). Crop Pants (Jacob). Flats (Aldo). Jean Jacket (Gap). Necklace (Stella and Dot). Bracelets (Stella and Dot, Stella and Dot).

Add a polka dot sleeveless blouse, white boyfriend blazer and black patent heels and you are ready for a night on the town.

Blouse (Jacob). Jacket (R W and Co). Pants (Jacob). Heels (Aldo).

I “pinned” this next look from Pinterest. Take black shorts, add some tights, ankle booties, white t-shirt and blazer. The first look is what I pinned and underneath is my interpretation.

So I’m not as glamorous looking as the model, but hey did she get up at 6am and run after a 3 yr old all day??? 🙂

I also “pinned” this next look from Pinterest. I love my red crop pants and here are a few ways of wearing them during Fall. This first one is inspired by Eva Longoria.

Pants and shirt (Gap). Scarf (old). Flats (Aldo).

I admit I’m no Eva Longoria, but I still think the outfit is cute.

This next look is also with the red crop pant and I’ve paired it with a jean jacket, sweater and white button top.

Jacket and Pant (Gap). White Oxford Shirt (Jacob). Flats (Aldo).

I absolutely love my cropped jeans, so here are a couple different ways of wearing them during Fall.

The first look I “pinned” again from Pinterest.

Sweater (Old Navy). Jeans (R W and Co). White Oxfort Shirt (Jacob). Heels (Aldo). Necklace (Banana Republic).

Add a white tank top, pink boyfriend cardigan, belt and ballet flats.

Cardigan (Gap). Tank Top and Jeans (R W and Co). Belt (Jacob). Flats (Aldo). Necklace (Banana Republic).

May this blog inspire you to figure out what you know for sure and to look in your wardrobe and see what can translate into the Fall. I’m sure you have more then you realize.

Next week I’m hoping to start featuring some of my favorite recipes, some of my cupcake and cake creations and add any deals I come across, whether it be fashion related or food related.

Happy Thursday Everyone!! 🙂

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Fashion, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What I know for sure and how to wear your favorite Summer clothes during Fall

  1. Karen Ceraldi says:

    You look great in everything you try on! Keep on keeping on as Gladys would say. ( from Ellen )

  2. sheree0819 says:

    My daughter just started pre-school as well..she also did great, she loves it, I wish she could go everyday! I love having the time to your self..SOOOOO necessary! I am with ya sister!
    I also love all the things you posted about your realizations..very cute and and you did a really great job reinventing these looks!
    Take care hon and have a great weekend!
    Sheree xxx
    http://www.itsnotthatdeep.com

    • Hi Sheree,

      Thank you so much. Yes pre-school has been great. Its some much needed time to myself. Although I do spend more time running errands then resting, but it is nice to be able to get stuff done by myself.

      Hope you had a good weekend. Thanks for reading my blog.

      Agi:)

  3. blue roses says:

    great suggestions; i especially like your looks with the white blazer. i recently bought one and need some ways to transition it into autumn!

  4. Tairalyn says:

    You rock at infusing your summer pieces into fall! Good on you!

    Xo
    T

Leave a Reply

