Weekend Birthday Celebration, Chocolate Mouse & High Tea

This is what I am wearing today: turtleneck, jeans, my favorite boots and my pink trench.

IMG_2116

IMG_2119

Jacket (Jacob). Turtleneck (R W & Co.). Jeans (Gap). Boots (Fergalicious). Purse (Olivia & Joy).

IMG_2121

IMG_2123

Friday was my husband’s birthday so my son and I let him sleep in and we made him breakfast: German Apple Pancakes topped with fresh whipped cream and a side of bacon. After breakfast I tackled dessert: home made chocolate mousse. It’s been a while since I last made it but it turned out amazing. Even Aiden gave me a thumbs up!!! Below is a picture of our breakfast feast, complete with a home made birthday card.

IMG_2047

Chocolate Mouse Recipe

Ingredients
6 ounces semisweet or bittersweet chocolate, or a mixture, finely chopped
1 cup heavy cream
1 tablespoon warm water
1/2 teaspoon instant espresso powder, optional
1 large egg
2 large egg yolks
Pinch fine salt
1/3 cup sugar

Directions
Put the chocolate in a medium heatproof bowl. Bring a saucepan filled with 1 inch or so of water to a very slow simmer; set the bowl over, but not touching, the water. Stir the chocolate occasionally until melted and smooth. (Alternatively, put the chocolate in a medium microwave-safe bowl. Melt at 50 percent power in the microwave until soft, about 1 minute. Stir, and continue heat until completely melted, about 1 to 2 minutes more.)

IMG_2050

IMG_2054

Whip the cream in a medium bowl until it holds soft peaks. Take care not to over whip the cream or the mousse will be dense. Cover and refrigerate while you cook the eggs.

IMG_2051

IMG_2052

Whisk the water and espresso powder together in a small bowl.

Put the eggs in another bowl that also sets over the water in the saucepan. Beat the egg yolks, pinch of salt, and sugar until foamy and light, about 30 seconds. Set the bowl over the water and whip with an electric mixer or whisk, moving in a circular motion around the bowl, until the eggs get very fluffy and hot to the touch, about 3 minutes. Remove the bowl from the heat and continue beating on high speed until the thick ribbons fall from the beater when lifted out of the bowl, about 5 minutes more. Fold in the espresso.

IMG_2055

IMG_2056

Fold about a quarter of the eggs into the chocolate to lighten it, then fold in the rest of the egg. Finally fold the whipped cream into the chocolate base to make a smooth light mousse. Pour the mousse into 4 serving dishes or wine glasses. Cover and refrigerate until set, about 1 hour. Serve.

IMG_2057

IMG_2060

For a dark, double-rich mousse, use all bittersweet chocolate instead of the semisweet, and decrease the cream to 3/4 cup.

IMG_2065

Read more at: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/chocolate-mousse-recipe3/index.html?oc=linkback

Finished product

IMG_2073

For dinner I made steaks with double stuffed potatoes and caesar salade.

IMG_2069

Here are pictures of my husband blowing out his candle. My son accidently blew out the candle the first time :).

IMG_2076

IMG_2080

I had bought a Groupon for High Tea at the Fairmont last year and it was going to expire in a few months so I thought that post Valentine’s Day would be a great time for my husband and I to go. From the minute we entered the hotel, I felt as though I was back in the 1920’s. I’ve become a huge fan of the BBC show Downton Abbey, and kept waiting for Mr. Carson, Mrs Hughes or Mrs. Patmore to come around the corner. If you haven’t seen the show, YOU MUST!!! It’s one of the best series I’ve ever watched and that’s saying a lot, considering I enjoy my tv!!! 🙂 We had a fabulous time. Below are pictures of our High Tea experience.

The ornate tea cup and saucer

IMG_2086

My husband all gussied up

IMG_2089

Me

IMG_2091

Enjoying the tea

IMG_2092

Us and of the food

IMG_2095

The sandwiches were amazing but there wasn’t nearly enough of them. My husband and I kept eyeing other people’s sandwiches wondering if they’ll eat them. We were tempted to ask if we could eat them, but figured it would be in poor taste. We were only kidding, well 90% kidding :). The cucumber sandwiches were the best.

The fabulous sandwiches

IMG_2101

The yummy desserts

IMG_2102

The fantastic scones

IMG_2103

IMG_2104

IMG_2106

IMG_2109

I ended our busy Saturday with a girl’s night. Below is my outfit. I apologize for my insane hair. I’m in desperate need of a hair cut.

IMG_2115

On Sunday we just relaxed at home, made a yummy pasta dinner and I feverishly tried to catch up on Downton Abbey. The season finale was last night. I was on episode 8. Hopefully by the time you read this post, I will have caught up.

May this blog inspire you to do something special for your partner’s birthday and to go and have High Tea.

Happy Monday Everyone!!!!

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Fashion, life, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Weekend Birthday Celebration, Chocolate Mouse & High Tea

  1. Tairalyn says:

    Soooooo envious! I loooooove high tea. Went across to Victoria for my birthday one year to do the Empress. WAS AMAZING! Happy Birthday Beautiful!

    xxoo
    Tairaly

  2. Karen Ceraldi says:

    Looks great and I’m sure Hubby loved everything 🙂

  3. Ginny says:

    This looks like an amazing weekend. I love the polka dot top and the chocolate mousse looks delicious!
    Ginny
    mynewfavoriteoutfit.blogspot.com

  4. Michelle says:

    Looks like a super fun weekend! Love the pink trench coat!
    xx Michelle

    Fierce & Fashionable

  5. Fun! You had some great celebrations!! I went to a high tea once in Victoria (Vancouver) and it was so fun. I want to go back!

  6. Amy says:

    I am jealous; I would love to go to a high tea! That looks amazing!

    Your outfit for girls night is so cute!

Leave a Reply

