Color Blocking & The Integrity Of Your Word

Today’s outfit, outfit #26, consists of a skirt, leggings, color blocking sweater and boots. I totally forgot that I had added my jean skirt into my list of 30 items, so here it is.

Outfit #26

IMG_1912

Skirt & Top (Gap). Boots (Browns). Bracelet (Etsy). Watch (Coach). Necklace (My Name Necklace).

IMG_1914

I apologize in advance for this post, I will be venting a little. I have become increasingly frustrated with people and the lack of integrity of their word. How many times has this happened to you where you are promised something? Where someone says “no problem any time you need something I’m here” and then they’re not. I’m getting tired of people saying things they don’t mean or don’t intend to follow through on. Don’t get me wrong I’m not perfect and I totally understand that shit happens, but what happened to the integrity of your word? Your word used to mean something. I feel as though people say things that they a) don’t mean and b) don’t intend to follow through on.

Last week Oprah spoke about intention. She discussed the meaning of your intention. If your intention is not pure or said with the idea of not following through, then why are you saying it? Are you saying it to please the other person, to make yourself feel better, or to shut the other person up? Or are you saying it because you mean it, because you intend to follow through on it. I know that things  come up that prevent people from following through on their word, but I feel like lately it’s happening more times than not. I feel like if someone doesn’t follow through people are like it’s ok, things happen. Sure things happen, but that doesn’t mean you can’t explain to the person the situation and offer to do it at a later time. My point is that a person’s word doesn’t mean what it used to and that people don’t hold one another accountable for it.

Oprah continued to discuss that she no longer offers to do things if she doesn’t mean it or want to. You aren’t living a truthful life if your word is not worth anything and your heart isn’t in it. Don’t say it if you don’t mean it or don’t intend on following through, because that leaves the other person in a jam, and left hurt.

We have become so self involved that we have lost the idea of helping one another. It seems like everywhere you look it’s all about me, me, me. What about helping out someone else? We are all so self-involved and what good is it doing? We have all this technology that allows us to not have to physically interact with people anymore. It’s all done on the computer or phone. We all need to step back and examine ourselves and our actions. Are we living our best life? Are we living with integrity? Do our words have meaning? Can people rely on us?

We all need to slow down and take a step back and examine who we are, our purpose and frankly we need to get our head out of our asses!!!! We all have shit to deal with, baggage from the past but that doesn’t mean we should forget about living in the present about making our word mean something. We live in a very self-absorbed and sometimes extremely selfish society and I’m tired of it. I want it to be a different world for my son and for myself.

So please, the next time you promise someone something, follow through on it. The next time you offer your help, then do it, offer your help. If your friend needs help and asks you then do it. If you see that your friend is having a hard time, stop and ask them if they’re ok. I apologize that this post is so blunt but I’m pissed off and sick and tired of people not following through on their word and not taking responsibility for their actions. It’s time we made our words mean something, not just verbal diarrhea!!!

Anyways that’s all I have to say on this topic. As you can see I am passionate about this and sick and tired of people’s word not meaning anything anymore and for people not being accountable for themselves.

May this blog inspire you to make your word mean something and to live your life with integrity.

Happy Friday and Weekend Everyone!!! Enjoy the Super Bowl. Me and my boys sure will 🙂

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Fashion, life, motherhood, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Color Blocking & The Integrity Of Your Word

  1. Karen Ceraldi says:

    I think you should have had a frowny face at the top of this page 😦 Sorry to hear someone didn’t come through for you but be comforted that I and probably many others will. I am so looking forward to someone helping me edit my wardrobe although I think it may take longer than 2 hours! So a hug to you and am looking forward to seeing you!

    • Thanks Karen, yes can’t wait for tomorrow and to discuss your wardrobe remix. The post was a long time coming. I”m just tired of people not following through on their word and it seems to be happening more and more these days. SEe you tomorrow.

  2. Ginny says:

    I’m sorry to hear someone wasn’t there for you as you needed 😦 I hope your day gets better and I totally agree that if someone says they’ll do something they totally should.
    Ginny

  3. Tunde says:

    You are absolutely right. Honesty is the only way to go. Empty promises never end good and hurt relationships / friendships. I’m a big believer in following through your promises, makes you a much better / happier person. Everyone should only promise something if they are able to follow through. Love you necklace by the way! You been getting lots of use out of it! 🙂

  4. dedivahdeals says:

    Amen and especially when you make a promise to a child!!!! Looking good once again – have a fantabulous weekend!

Leave a Reply

