What I Wore To Work And Book Review Of Secret Daughter

I wanted to thank all of you for voting for my blog the past few weeks. You guys are fabulous. I know that I begged and pleaded but I really appreciate it. I finished in 10th place!!!! Thank you guys so much!!!!! 🙂

Also a complete aside I’M GOING TO OPRAH TODAY!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t wait!!!! 🙂 I’ve had my outfit picked out for 4 days now and I’m so excited. I’ll do a post on it next week. I had  a chance to see one of her last shows taped in Chicago and here is the post.

For today’s post I’ll be linking up with Tara from Mix and Match Fashion for What I Wore To Work. Since I am a nurse and wear scrubs all day, I figured I would spare you all a picture of me in over sized scrubs (wish we looked as good as they do on Grey’s Anatomy!!! :)) and show you a picture of what I typically wear to work. I usually wear a t-shirt with a cardigan, jeans and boots, or a sweater and a blazer, something that I can wear underneath my scrubs and keep me warm. So today’s look is part of my 30 in 30 challenge. I have worn this sweater before to work and it’s perfect because it’s 3/4 length sleeve works well under scrubs. Long enough to keep my arms warm yet short enough to stay out of  goobly goop (hazards of working in Labor & Delivery, believe me there is a lot of goobly goop!!!).

Outfit #18

IMG_1791

Sweater, T-Shirt & Jeans (Gap). Boots (Fergalicious). Watch (Coach). Bracelets (Stella & Dot, Poshlocket). Necklace (My Name Necklace).

IMG_1793

Secret Daughter by Shilpi Gowda

0061974307

Tuesday night I met up with my moms bookclub meetup. This month’s selection was Secret Daughter by Shilpi Gowda. We all agreed that this book was amazing. It was well written, descriptive (made us all want to travel to India), emotional, funny, enlightening and empowering.

This is a book that any mother can relate to. There are two mothers in this story, Somer who adopts a baby (Asha) and Kavita that gives up Asha for adoption. I found that I could relate and empathize with both mothers. Being a mother myself and reading the part where she gives her child up for adoption broke my heart. Thankfully I was in a public place when I read that part, otherwise I would have gone into the ugly cry. My heart ached for Kavita, who selflessly gave up her daughter in order for her to have a chance at a better life, at better opportunities. My heart also ached for Somer who couldn’t conceive and made the decision to adopt a baby. Motherhood is one of the most fulfilling, yet emotionally exhausting journey you will ever take.

The American mother, Somer, stopped doing things for herself once she adopted Asha. She gave up her career, her interests, she let herself go all in the name of her daughter. Does that sound familiar? We discussed Tuesday night how common that is for mothers to give up who they are for their children. In Somer’s case she became resentful and took that out on her daughter. It wasn’t until later in the story that Somer regained who she is.   By taking care of herself, Somer not only regained her “old self”but taught her daughter that you can’t give up on who you are. You need to do things for yourself.

As a mother of an almost 4 yr old boy (God I can’t believe I’m saying “an almost 4 yr old”!!! :)), I can relate and understand how Somer could do that. It took me almost 1.5 years before I gave myself permission to take care of myself and not feel guilty. Now when I take time for myself, everyone benefits; myself, my husband and my son. I am a better mother, wife, woman, and person. I realized that there is nothing wrong with taking time out for me. I don’t have to feel guilty. And for those moms out there, you too shouldn’t feel guilty. If taking time for yourself makes you feel better, then that’s what you need to do. Give yourself permission to take care of yourself. How can you be expected to take care of someone else when you don’t even take care of yourself?

Somer and her husband had a strained relationship after they adopted and brought Asha back to the US. They should have shared with each other their fears, thoughts, hopes, dreams, instead they just went on with their lives as if everything was normal. There was a complete lack of communication and they stopped working at their relationship. Relationships are hard and in order to stay together you have to foster it and nourish it.

This book is a very quick and easy read. As you can see by my summary and thoughts it’s also very relatable. There is only one character that I couldn’t relate to or sympathize with. Shilpi Gowda wrote a beautiful tale of finding yourself and discovering who you are. That is something that we are all working towards. Our journey on Earth is to find ourselves and discover who we are.

Do you know who you are? Next time you’re at the book store definitely pick up this book.

If you live in the Vancouver Area please don’t forget to enter my remix your wardrobe contest here .

May this blog inspire you to take sometime out for yourself.

Happy Thursday Everyone!!! 🙂

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Book review, Fashion, life, motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I Wore To Work And Book Review Of Secret Daughter

  1. Ginny says:

    How exciting to go to Oprah! I really like this orange on you today too 🙂
    Ginny
    mynewfavoriteoutfit.blogspotcom

  2. Thanks Ginny. I’m so excited to see her again.

  3. Tara says:

    Have a blast at Oprah! Thanks so much for linking up with me today!

Leave a Reply

