Dr. Oz’s 3 Day Cleanse

Only 1.5 days left to vote for my blog for the Circle of Mom’s Top 25 Fashion and Beauty blog contest. Please vote. It only takes 2 secs and you’re done. Just click on this link and press vote. It’s that simple. If each of you voted I would definitely make it into the top 10. You can vote once every 24 hrs until Wednesday Jan 23 at 4pm PST. So, please, please, please vote!!!! Thank you to each and every one of you that voted.

Today marks day #16 of my 30 in 30 challenge. I chose to wear my black and grey striped dress. I wore it previously under a turtleneck and I thought I’ll just wear it “as is” with some jewelry.

Outfit #16

IMG_1786

Dress (Gap). Leggings (Jacob). Boots (Browns). Bracelet (Coach). Necklace (Stella & Dot). Watch (Michael Kors).

Dr. Oz 3 Day Cleanse: My Experience

Day #1

The first day wasn’t so bad. I was busy planning our smoothies and making them, so it didn’t feel that challenging. My husband on the other hand was having a rough go of it. He had a killer headache and was nauseated. The breakfast smoothie was by far the tastiest. The lunch smoothie is thick and harder to eat. The dinner smoothie is pretty tasty but beware of the cayenne pepper. I think that’s what did my husband in. Overall day #1 was pretty good for me. I didn’t feel hungry. I did feel tired and I had a nap so that helped. My favorite part by far was the detox bath at night. That was the most relaxed I felt in a long time.

Day #2

Sunday was harder. I had to make our lunch smoothie to go because we were headed to the bike show. I had to pack my son’s snacks, extra change of clothes (just in case of accidents) and our smoothies. As my son sat to eat his snacks, my husband and I drank our smoothies in misery. From the minute we got there, we were tempted by mini donuts (my absolute favorite), and smells of greasy fries and burgers. It was very hard to resist but we managed not to cave. I had developed quite a headache by that point and my energy levels were low, not to mention my mood was not so good either. On our drive back home, they had commercials on the radio about savoury steaks and succulent something-or-another and it was honestly not fair. We both laughed at our situation. We got home and I diligently prepared our “snack” smoothie. I was ready to give up, but my husband convinced me not too. Then what broke the camel’s back was preparing my son’s dinner. As I was cutting up the cheese, my mouth was salivating. That was it!!! I HAD HAD ENOUGH!!! I love my body and I want to be as healthy as possible but this was torture. So we decided to make eggs for us for dinner and have our dinner smoothie.

Day #3

Even though we decided to eat “real” food, we still had our green tea with lemons in the morning and I had my breakfast smoothie. The only difference was that I also made us a coffee. It tasted like sweet heaven!!!! For lunch I had my green smoothie, with chicken soup. For snack I had my dinner smoothie and for dinner we had mac’n cheese made with cauliflower, whole wheat macaroni, steamed brocoli and homemade sausages.

What Did I learn?

  • I learned that doing a cleanse is a lot harder than it sounds. You have to be totally dedicated and in the right mind set. Both my husband and I had both but my love for food and the fact that I was a grumpy bitch was making not things so much fun.
  • I need to drink more water, drink less coffee.
  • I need to take my vitamins regularly.
  • We as a family have to eat more vegetables. It’s not like we didn’t eat them before, we just need to eat more of them.
  • Make a smoothie daily.
  • Take a detox bath once a week.
  • Do a cleanse more often.

Do I Feel Better?

Yes I do. My psoriasis is improving. I’m not as tired and my bowels are happier. I actually had energy at 1pm. Normally I hit the wall by then and make a second coffee and I didn’t do that yesterday. Instead I had my lunch smoothie and then my snack smoothie.

Was It Worth it?

Yes it was. I feel much better. I have more energy and I know my body appreciates what I did.

Will I Do It Again?

Yes but would probably only do it for only 2 days.

Below are pictures of all the smoothies.

Green Tea with lemons

IMG_1709

Breakfast Smoothie (the best one)

IMG_1704 IMG_1707

Lunch Smoothie (by far the most difficult to digest)

IMG_1716 IMG_1718

Dinner Smoothie

IMG_1783

Overall I would definitely recommend doing a cleanse. Be prepared for how hard it will be. It will test your will power. If you are married or live with someone try doing it with them, that will help keep you on the cleanse. I liked Dr. Oz cleanse because although I felt hungry I knew with the smoothies that I was replenishing and nurturing my body.

Please don’t forget to vote for me here.

Also if you live in the Vancouver Area, please don’t forget to enter my contest to remix your wardrobe here. Contest ends on Sunday January 27.

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Fashion, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dr. Oz’s 3 Day Cleanse

  1. Ginny says:

    I love this dress! Also, good info on the cleanse, I’m not sure how you sucked down the lunch and dinner smoothies! You are definitely a better woman than I.
    Ginny
    mynewfavoriteoutfit.blogspot.com

  2. Tara says:

    Gotta love stripes! This dress was the perfect item to include in the challenge!

  3. Great information!! Thanks for sharing!
    xo,
    nancy

  4. Great job with the cleanse – you’ve done more than I ever had with something like that. You look fab in that dress, btw!

Leave a Reply

