More Stripes & A Perfect Recipe To Use Up Leftover Ham

Outfit #4

IMG_1571

Jeans & Shirt (Gap). Cardigan (H & M). Necklace (Banana Republic). Bracelet (Stella & Dot). Watch (Michael Kors). Boots (Fergalicious).

IMG_1572

IMG_1574

Yes I know I’m wearing stripes again today!!! πŸ™‚ I told you I have a slight obsession with them. This top is fabulous because it’s simple and versatile. I layered it under a green cardigan and added a turquoise bracelet for a pop of color. My boots are my absolute favorite, love them, so versatile. These jeans are great because they are straight, so they work well in a boot and over a boot. All this combined makes for the perfect getting your son to preschool, running to the grocery store outfit. How’s your 30 in 30 challenge going?

I entered a contest for bloggers: Circle of Moms Top 25. If you click on the link located on the side you can vote for me. It’s really easy to vote. All you have to do is click on this link.Β Just click on vote and it’s as simple as that. Thanks so much. You can vote every day until Jan 23. Please vote for me. Thanks :).

Yesterday, in my morning haste, I forgot to check my son’s music class schedule. We arrive and realize that it doesn’t start until next Wednesday. The good news is that I found a great and very affordable venue for my son’s birthday (it’s in May, but things book up very quickly) and my son and I both made new friends. So my belief that everything happens for a reason rings true.

Ham & Lentil Stew

A few years ago at work, I was hungrily eyeing one of my friend’s lunches. She was eating homemade ham and lentil soup. She let me have a taste and it was amazing. It’s the perfect way to use up leftover ham after the holidays. So here is the recipe. It makes for great leftovers and you can literally throw in the kitchen sink and it will taste amazing.

Ingredients

  • use as much leftover ham as you have or 1/2 lb, diced
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup diced onions
  • 1/2 cup diced celery
  • 1/2 cup diced carrot
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 lb of dry lentils (I use 2 cans of lentils)
  • 1/4 cup of dry sherry
  • 5 cups of low-sodium chicken broth (I use organic chicken broth)
  • 2 cups diced tomatoes
  • 2 tsp. minced fresh thyme
  • 2 cups chopped fresh spinach
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp of red wine vinegar
  • top with crumbled goat cheese (I omit this part, we don’t like goat cheese)

Total time: 1 hr (realistically about 1.5 hrs, including all the preparation and clean up)

1. Brown ham in oil in a large pot over medium-high heat; transfer to place and set aside.

IMG_1520

2. Add onion, celery, carrot, and garlic to the pot. Reduce heat to medium, and sweat for 5 minutes.

IMG_15213. Stir in lentils, increase heat to medium-high and cook for 2 minutes.

IMG_15224. Deglaze pot with sherry; simmer until nearly evaporated. Stir in ham, broth, tomatoes, and thyme. Bring stew to a boil, reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer, partially covered, until the lentils are tender, about 30 minutes.

IMG_15245. Add spinach to the stew and season with salt and pepper.

IMG_15256. (Optional) Finish soup with vinegar. Garnish with goat cheese.

This soup is phenomenal. It is hearty, and gets better with age. Enjoy!!! πŸ™‚

Happy Thursday Everyone!!! πŸ™‚ Tomorrow is FRIDAY!!!!!! πŸ™‚ Just noticed I used lots of smiley faces in my blog today :).

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More Stripes & A Perfect Recipe To Use Up Leftover Ham

  1. xo Michelle says:

    Oh yum, that looks absolutely delicious lady!! I love soups.

    xo Michelle

    Fierce & Fashionable

  2. Tara says:

    Nothing wrong with stripes again….I’d wear them everyday if nobody would notice lol

  3. Leanne says:

    Great outfit!!! I love the stripes

    Love from South Africa

    http://arumlilea.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

