Bows & Sequins and A Date At The Dark Table

Outfit #2

IMG_1553

Dress (H & M). Cardigan (J Crew). Leggings (Jacob). Boots (Browns). Necklace (Joe Fresh). Bracelets (Stella & Dot, Coach). Watch (Guess).

I picked this dress from H & M as one of my 30 items because of how versatile it is. I can’t wait to layer a pink plaid top underneath it for a pop of color. This dress is a blank canvass just waiting for it to be styled :). What can I say about the cardigan? I love it. Again a versatile piece that can be worn layered over many things, seen here.

How is day #2 going? Are you having fun yet? I am. I can’t wait to see all the different outfits I can make.

Dark Table

As a last hurrah of celebrating our 10 year anniversary, my husband surprised me with a dinner date at Dark Table. During the days leading up to our date, my husband made quite a few strange comments and outfit suggestions. When I asked him what to wear he said “make sure whatever you wear you don’t mind getting a stain on it!!”. I thought that was a very odd comment but went with it anyways. I thought he was taking me someplace where we make our dinner, learn from a chef. Normally he tells me to dress up but I ended up wearing skinny jeans, a white t-shirt and a pink cardigan. We get to the restaurant and I immediately know where he has taken me. The restaurant is called Dark Table, located on West 4th. The idea started in Switzerland where a man by the name of Speilmann blindfolded his guests during dinner. It was such a hit that restaurants opened in London, Paris, New York, LA and Montreal and now here.

2

You are greeted outside the restaurant by the hostess. You place your order with her. The appetizers and desserts are kept a surprise. I ordered the PEPPERED GARLIC PRAWNS WITH CITRUS RISOTTO, SEASONAL VEGETABLES and my husband had the BEEF TENDERLOIN WITH OUR PEPPERCORN SAUCE, POTATOES AND VEGETABLES. Once we ordered, a blind waiter (FYI the cooks and the hostess can see) took us to our table. When I say the restaurant is dark, I mean it’s dark!!! You couldn’t see in front of you. I held onto the waiter’s shoulders and my husband held onto mine. I walked very hesitantly. Once at our table, our waiter got us familiar with the layout of the table. Once we had a chance to “feel” our way around, it wasn’t so bad. If we needed him, we were to call him. By the way “Rudy” was our waiter and he was fantastic. We started our culinary experiment with fresh baked bread. I’m not sure if I was quite hungry or what, but the bread was amazing. It was quite interesting trying to butter it in the dark. They say that when one of your senses is taken away, the others are heightened. I would have to agree. Everything from the bread, to the spring salad with roasted peppers, zucchini and mushrooms, to dinner was amazing. My only small critique would be of the dessert. It was tiramisu but it really didn’t taste like it. It lacked coffee flavor, but overall our experience was phenomenal. I would totally recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to try something new. It’s definitely worth it. It was surreal when we left, because we could see. I can’t imagine blind people not being able to see ever. This experience sure made me appreciate having my sight. So if you want to try something new, check out Dark Table.

Happy Tuesday Everyone!!! Stay tuned for tomorrow’s outfit. I’m participating in a trend of the month. Can’t wait to show you how I wear stripes, because I’ve never done that before :).

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Fashion, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bows & Sequins and A Date At The Dark Table

  1. What a fun experience and kudos to your husband for such creativity! That black dress is a black canvas and you can do so much with it. Can’t wait to see more. I also love the idea of the pink plaid top under that sweater. Looking forward to more looks!

  2. Hi Agi!
    Thanks so much for your sweet comment as always and I’m excited that you’ll be joining in on tomorrow’s link-up! So all you need to do is make your post on your blog just like normal and be sure to mention the link-up. I’ll have a button on my blog that you’ll just need to click and then copy + paste your post URL. That’s pretty much it! it’ll lead you through the next couple steps but I promise it is super easy 🙂
    Can’t wait to see your stripes!
    xo – Marion

  3. Tara says:

    Yay bow cardigan! Love how you’ve styled it!

  4. JJ Cowan says:

    This dress is gorgeous and I loved the way that you paired it with you leather boots. We should follow each other on twitter so we can both get equally fabulous updates on fashion and inspire each other. My handle is https://twitter.com/SFYGF follow me and I’ll follow back I love making friends and getting inspired!!!! XXOO Big Hugs from Toronto

  5. Jonna says:

    Love the outfit! It’s very classy, yet with a fun twist. Awesome job on your husband’s behalf of choosing that restaurant. It reminded me of the film, “When In Rome.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

