Our Christmas

Happy Holidays everyone!!! I’m hoping everyone had a wonderful Christmas and that Santa was generous to you all. We had a great Christmas. We drove up to the interior and celebrated Christmas with my in-laws and my dad. It was a low key affair and perfect. The drive up was a bit hairy, as there is a lot of snow up in the mountains, but our Subaru, Sydney, can drive through anything :). I was hoping for a more restful holiday, but our son had other ideas. About 2 weeks ago, his preschool had a notice up that Fifth’s Disease was going around. I thought nothing of it, until we got up to my in-laws and Aiden wasn’t feeling well. We noticed he had a small fever and a small quarter size rash on his cheek. I called the nurses line and the nurse reassured me that it wasn’t serious and that if he gets itchy to give him an oatmeal bath. The spot on his cheek was gone by the next day, but was replaced with a rash on his stomach, back and upper legs. Thankfully with the help of the oatmeal bath, the rash didn’t get worse and is slowly healing. He still has a small one on his foot, but overall he is feeling great. So needless to say this Mama didn’t get the restful Christmas she was hoping for. We all slept in the same room and he coughed a lot and had some nightmares. My husband and I also received an extra gift, my son’s cold. I have a doctor’s appointment on Monday, as my ears are almost completely plugged. Anyways we are home now and had a much better night’s sleep last night. Below are pictures of our trip up to Grouse Mountain (Peak of Christmas), totally worth it, and our Christmas with our family.

Grouse Mountain Breakfast with Santa

Gondola ride up, my son loved it, me not so much (I don’t like heights)

IMG_1280 Breakfast with Santa
IMG_1283 SantaIMG_1297 Grouse Mountain looked like a winter wonderlandIMG_1298 Up on the mountain, waiting for the sleigh rideIMG_1301 Sleigh rideIMG_1309Aiden enjoying a hot chocolate 🙂IMG_1315 Me enjoying the hot chocolateIMG_1320

Our Christmas in the Interior

On our way to Grandma’s house (thank God for the IPAD!!!

IMG_1336 Anxiously waiting to open gifts (we open them on Christmas Eve)
IMG_1348 Thank you GrandmaIMG_1402My husband putting together Aiden’s new toy IMG_1406 My husband and I Christmas EveIMG_1420

Aiden serenading us with the flute and pianoIMG_1426 A rare picture of the 3 of us Christmas Day
IMG_1430

Sledding!!! 🙂
IMG_1440 IMG_1442 IMG_1445 IMG_1457 IMG_1461 Cooking bacon over a fire (you have to try it!!!!)IMG_1469 Aiden enjoying eating grandpa’s cooked baconIMG_1470

Even though we were sick during Christmas, we still had a great time. I think by far my favorite memories are of Aiden opening his gifts and of the entire family roasting/cooking the bacon by the fire. We stunk afterwards but it was so much fun. The mulled wine kept us warm :).

Thanks to my mother-in-laws amazing cooking, starting up bootcamp again in January can’t come soon enough. We feasted on prawn linguine and various other types on fish on Christmas Eve, roast duck, stuffed chicken, stuffing and red cabbage on Christmas Day and enjoyed roasting/cooking bacon on Boxing Day. Our holidays are typically spent eating, watching movies, playing Settler’s of Catan, more eating, drinking and of course eating!!! 🙂

Stay tuned for my top outfit posts of 2012 and my 30 in 30 for the New Year.

Happy Friday Everyone!!!!

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our Christmas

  1. Janine says:

    Lovely photos, thanks for sharing. It looks like you had a great time, sorry to hear about all the illness though (I feel your pain, I have been ill all Christmas, boo hoo). Looking forward to seeing your favourite outfit post and your 30 in 30 in January!

    I am on the health and fitness bandwagon in January too, my tummy is so swollen right now!!

    Have a lovely weekend.

    Janine xx
    BakeGlueandTrend

Leave a Reply

