Snowflake Ornament and My Famous Rum Ball Recipe c/o Martha Stewart

This is what I am wearing today: my bow cardigan,  chambray top, skinny pants and boots. I was hoping to wear my sparkly flats, but we still have way too much snow on the ground for that.

IMG_1274

Cardigan (J Crew). Chambray Shirt (American Eagle). Pants (Gap). Boots (Browns)

The last day of preschool before the holidays was yesterday. This is what my son brought home in a brown paper bag that was decorated like a reindeer. I love it!!!! It’s my first present my son made at school. He told me yesterday that preschool is his favorite. He loves going. Music to my ear :). I’m amazed at how well he has adjusted to school. Can’t believe he is half way done his first year of preschool!!! Where has the time gone????

IMG_1273

Yesterday I managed to finish cleaning the house, mail the last Christmas letter straglers, finish my Christmas baking, write some extra blog posts and relax with my husband. Today is also going to be a busy day with a birthday party in the morning and my dad arriving. Looking forward to Saturday as we head up to Grouse Mountain to have breakfast with Santa and play in the snow and then head to grandma’s on Sunday.

Rum Balls (Recipe from Martha Stewart)

Served chilled, these balls are formed when a batch of brownies is broken into bits, flavored with dark rum, and rolled.

  • Yield Makes 4 dozen

Ingredients

    • Vegetable oil, cooking spray
    • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into pieces
    • 6 ounces semisweet chocolate, finely chopped
    • 3 large eggs
    • 1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar
    • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
    • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
    • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
    • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons dark rum
    • Coarse sanding sugar, for rolling

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Coat a 12-by-17-inch rimmed baking sheet with cooking spray; set aside. Melt butter and chocolate in a small heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water, stirring occasionally. Set aside.

IMG_12352. Whisk together eggs, brown sugar, vanilla, and salt in a large bowl. Stir in chocolate mixture, then fold in flour. Pour batter into prepared baking sheet. Spread evenly with a rubber spatula. Bake until top is shiny and a cake tester inserted into center comes out with some crumbs attached, about 10 minutes. Let cool completely on a wire rack.

IMG_1236

IMG_1237IMG_1239 3. Break up brownie into small pieces; transfer to the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. With machine on low speed, pour in rum, and mix until crumbs start to come together to form a ball. I add much more rum than the recipe calls for. I basically add it until it almost falls apart. My husband loves it that way.

IMG_1241

IMG_1243

IMG_1244

4. Shape into 1-inch balls, and roll in sanding sugar to coat. Transfer to a baking sheet; refrigerate, uncovered, until cold, about 2 hours. Serve chilled or at room temperature.

* I actually roll the rum balls in cocoa.

May this blog inspire you to make an ornament with your child and to try my rum ball recipe.

Happy Friday and Weekend Everyone!!!!

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Fashion, life, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Snowflake Ornament and My Famous Rum Ball Recipe c/o Martha Stewart

  1. loveitliz says:

    This blog is fab and this post is great -you should do more like this! I’d love it if you could check out mine! Keep Posting!

  2. Shannon says:

    Mmm.. the rum balls sound yummy! What a great holiday treat. And I love your bow cardigan.
    http://shannonhearts.blogspot.com/

  3. xo Michelle says:

    Ahh what an adorable ornament from your son! Too cute!!

    xo Michelle

    Fierce & Fashionable

Leave a Reply

