Remembering Sandy Hook Victims

282855_10151342798365661_1934279537_n

I want to apologize that this post will not be about fashion or about Christmas. This is to honor those beautiful angels that are now in Heaven.

On Friday I heard the devastating news of the terror and tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary School. I then saw President Obama speak and saw that he wasn’t speaking as the President, but as a father. As a mother, I couldn’t help but think of my son and of how when I drop him off at preschool I believe he is safe. The parents of those 20 beautiful angels believed their children would be safe that day. I can not even begin to imagine the grief, anger and emptiness these parents must be feeling. I know that after I heard, I was an emotional basket case. If our kids aren’t safe at school, then where are they safe?

I want to thank the Grade 1 teacher, Victoria Soto, for her bravery. I can only hope that, God forbid this were to ever happen to my son, his teacher would look after him the way she did. I can’t begin to imagine the fear that she felt and the bravery to hide the children to protect them. You are in a better place today, watching over those 2o beautiful, young souls. Thank you for your bravery, courage and love. It will never be forgotten.

To the parents of those children, I can’t begin to imagine how you must feel. This weekend I kept thinking that you should be watching Christmas specials on tv with your children, baking, getting ready for Christmas. Instead you are grieving for your beautiful angels and planning a funeral. Please know that you are not alone and we as parents grieve with you. Please find solace knowing that your children are in a better place, smiling down at us, and keeping us safe. Last Friday 20 more angels entered Heaven.

This unspeakable tragedy has reminded me, how short life is and how we need to appreciate every moment with our loved ones. On Saturday, my son could feel that I was sad and we sat together for over an hour, watching The Elf on the Shelf, cuddling. He grabbed tightly onto my neck and didn’t let go. He knew that his Mama needed some TLC. He doesn’t know, nor will I tell him what happened, as he is much too young. But I did tell him that Mama is sad and that we have to pray for 20 beautiful little people and their families.

The lesson to take away from this is that things need to change!!!! We need to stand together and start making this world a better place. Christmas is 8 sleeps away and ’tis the season for more love, generosity and peace. In honor of the children and teachers lost, let’s honor their memories by changing this world and making it a better place. The answer is not more guns and violence. It’s love!!!

May you RIP our beautiful, little angels.

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Remembering Sandy Hook Victims

  1. Janine says:

    This is very beautifully written. Like you, I was devastated by this news (we all paid our respects at work today and discussed the bravery of that young teacher and all the people involved).

    Rest in peace angels xxx

  2. Karen Ceraldi says:

    The sadness and tears I think will always be with me. Lovely words.

    • Thanks Karen. It gets to me every time I turn on the news. Today when I dropped Aiden off at preschool, I told him to be safe. I know he is but I still worry. I know that what happened is an anamoly but those parents never thought in a millon years that that would happen to them.

Leave a Reply

