A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens, Mulled Wine and Artichoke and Spinach Dip

We had our book club meeting Tuesday night and this is what I wore. This cardigan will be perfect to wear during the holidays. Love the bows and sparkles!!

IMG_1171Cardigan & Necklace ( J Crew). Jeans (R W & Co.). Boots (Browns). Bracelets (Jacob). Watch (Michael Kors).

A Christmas Carol

1416534784

We decide to read Charles Dickens’ classic, A Christmas Carol as our December selection. We wanted something short and light and this worked. Most people are familiar with this classic in either the movie or book format. As I was reading it, I kept imagining Mickey as Crachett. My all time favorite version of A Christmas Carol, is Mickey’s Christmas Carol, the 1983 version.

MickeysChristmasCarol

I, like many, believed that Dickens was paid by word, but that is incorrect. Rather, he got paid by installments, according to “The Dickens Report” from the University of Santa Cruz. Hence, why some of his books are so long. I could have sworn he was paid by the word, the way he went on describing the beginning scene. When I started reading the book, my mind immediately went to the opening scene of the Disney version, making it harder for me to read the book patiently. Dickens does a wonderful job of describing the first and third ghosts. The imagery of the first ghost, left me with a peaceful feeling, whereas the third ghost left me feeling rather ominous. The Ghost of Christmas Future left you innerved, not only because he didn’t speak but also for what he represented.

We discussed whether this book was mean’t to be a ghost story. Upon further research, I found that this book is referred to as “A Ghost Story of Christmas”. I don’t feel as though it’s a ghost story but more a story of retribution; of learning from one’s past mistakes and trying to live a better life. Sure the third ghost appears to be quite ominous, but the idea of Scrooge’s future is more frightening, than the ghost himself. Maybe we are just desensitized now to the idea of ghosts??

Another theme discussed briefly was the idea that one can’t be happy and rich at the same time. I don’t think that that’s what Dickens was implying. I think he wanted people to be the best they can be, regardless of wealth and social status. I think that one can be happy and be rich and Scrooge ended up being both. What do you think? Can you be rich and happy?

I really liked this classic book and what it represents. We should all try to be more like the “new” Scrooge and give to others.

So what do you think of Dickens’ classic novel?

Spinach & Artichoke Dip

I made a quick and easy Spinach and Artichoke dip for our meetup. Below is the recipe.

  • 1 can of Artichokes
  • 1/2 cup of Mayonaise
  • 1 package of Kraft Italiano cheese
  • 1 brick of Cream cheese, softened
  • 1 package of Spinach
  • 3 cloves of Garlic

IMG_1172

1. Place spinach, garlic, artichokes and softened cream cheese in the food processor and blend.

IMG_1173

2. Add mayonaise and continue to blend until it’s mixed well.

IMG_1174IMG_11753. Place the spinach and artichoke mixture in a corningware dish, add the cheese and mix well.

IMG_11764. Bake covered at 400 degrees for 20 mins. Enjoy!!! Serve with vegetables, crackers or nacho chips.

It’s a fantastic quick appetizer to throw together quickly and your friends and family will love it. It’s one of my signature dishes I bring to parties.

Mulled Wine

I also made mulled wine last night, but forgot to take pictures. It’s a great warm alternative to hot chocolate around the holidays.

  • 1-2 bottles of cheap red wine (whatever you have at home will work)
  • 1/2 cup of sugar or less
  • slice 2 oranges
  • add 3-4 cinnamon sticks
  • 1 liter of apple juice
  • handful of cloves (I put mine in a tea strainer, makes it easier to serve)

Add all the ingredients in a pot, warm slowly on the stove until nice and warm. Serve in mugs and enjoy!!!!

May this blog inspire you to explore Dickens’ classic ” A Christmas Carol” and to try the dip and mulled wine recipe.

Happy Thursday Everyone!!!

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Book review, Fashion, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens, Mulled Wine and Artichoke and Spinach Dip

  1. Karen Ceraldi says:

    I believe one can be rich and be a good person although some get to become rich by being unscrupulous. No matter the income everyone can be a true and caring person if they choose that path. A Merry Christmas to you and all your readers although I’m sure there will be more fun postings to read on their way 🙂

  2. Loving those bows! 🙂

    Thanks for leaving a sweet comment on my blog!

    xo
    Deanne

    http://myfashavenue.blogspot.ca

Leave a Reply

