Christmas Tree Cupcakes & German Apple Pancakes

This is what I am wearing today to take my son to Gymnastics class: a navy and gray striped sweater, jeans and boots. Later today is my son’s first preschool Christmas concert. I can’t wait!!! I have to remember to bring kleenex with me, as I’m sure I will go into the “ugly cry”.

I’m trying to take pictures in a different, less busy location. Not sure what I think of the lighting. Please bare with me as I try different locations. Taking pictures outside is out of the question because it’s raining.

IMG_1143

Sweater (Gap). Jeans (R W & Co). Boots (Browns). Necklace ( J Crew). Watch ( Michael Kors).

I’ve mentioned it before that every month I make cupcakes for an inner city school. For this month, I made Christmas trees for the kids.

IMG_1064

German Apple Pancakes

A friend of mine gave me this recipe many years ago and it’s my favorite go-to recipe for a special breakfast. I don’t make them often, just for my husband’s birthday, Father’s Day and when we have guests stay over, but when I do make them, they are a huge hit. They are super easy to make and I serve them with fresh whipped cream. You don’t need any syrup, they are sweet enough by themselves. These would be a fantastic treat Christmas morning.

Ingredients
2/3 cup flour
2 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cut into pieces (about 1 pound)
3 eggs
1/4 cup, light brown sugar
5 tablespoons granulated sugar plus more for tin
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 tablespoon lemon juice
3/4 cup whole milk

Topping Ideas
Maple syrup
Fresh whipped cream
Strawberry jam
Extra confectioners’ sugar
Fresh squeezed lemon juice

Tools
Measuring cups and spoons
6-cup jumbo muffin tin
Pastry brush
10-inch nonstick skillet
Food processor
Mesh strainer

Directions
This recipe makes 6 pancakes.

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Brush melted butter inside each muffin cup; coat with granulated sugar. (I use pam in the pan and I omit the sugar)

2.An adult can peel, core,and slice each apple into twelve wedges, then cut each wedge into three pieces.Toss with brown sugar, cinnamon, and lemon juice.

3. Melt 2 tablespoons butter in a 10-inch nonstick skillet over medium heat.Add the apples and saute, turning occasionally, for 10 to 12 minutes, until caramelized. Remove pan from stove; let cool 5 minutes. Divide the caramelized apples among the muffin cups.

IMG_1013

4. Place flour, salt, granulated sugar, melted butter, eggs, and milk in the bowl of a food processor. Process for 3 minutes.

IMG_1014

5. Pour batter over apples. An adult should place tin in oven and lower heat to 400 degrees. Bake 15 minutes. Pancakes will puff up during last 5 minutes of baking.

IMG_1015

6.Take tin from oven and turn it over on a flat surface to remove pancakes. Dust with confectioners’ sugar and serve immediately.

IMG_1016

One Giant Pancake: If you prefer, you can make a traditional large pancake to share instead of six individual ones. Follow the steps for the recipe, using an 8-cup apple pan or a 10-inch nonstick ovenproof skillet or baking pan. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, until the edges become puffed and golden. An adult can run a knife along the edges of the pan and then, using potholders, turn out the finished pancake onto a serving platter, cut into wedges.

I hope you and your family enjoy these as much as mine do.

May this blog inspire you to Christmas-a-fy your cupcakes and to try these mouth watering pancakes for breakfast or for brunch.

Happy Monday Everyone!!!!

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Fashion, life, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Tree Cupcakes & German Apple Pancakes

  1. Tara says:

    Hope you had fun at the concert, the sweater is adorable!

  2. Karen Ceraldi says:

    I’m coming over for breakfast!

Leave a Reply

