50 Shades of Blue, Red Hightlights, Hamburger Soup and Ginger Molasses Cookies

This is what I am wearing today: blue sweater, jeans, boots and my blue Coach watch. This is for you Michelle!!!! Here it is: 50 Shades of Blue. I thought that it would look funny to have so many different shades of blue in one outfit, but because the jeans are neutral and the watch is so small, I find the three go together well. Plus my favorite color is blue šŸ™‚ .

Jeans (Gap). Sweater ( J Crew). Boots (Fergalicious). Necklace (Banana Republic). Bracelets (Poshlocket). Watch (Coach).

As you can see my hair has been cut, thank God!!! It was lacking shape and color. We added some red highlights and I love it. Check it out.

Canadian Hamburger Soup

‘Tis the season for making warm, hearty soups. I got this recipe from my mother-in-law and it’s fantastic. It’s Hamburger Soup and it taste amazing. It’s rich, hearty and pretty much includes everything but the kitchen sink. You can totally add whatever you want, or just stick to the recipe. It’s the perfect soup and meal for the Winter season.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 lbs lean ground beef
  • 1 medium onions, peeled and chopped fine
  • 1 garlic cloves, minced fine
  • 1 (28 ounce) cans plum tomatoes, undrained
  • 4 cups low sodium beef broth
  • 1 (10 ounce) cans tomato soup (I use 1 28oz. can of crushed tomatoes instead)
  • 3 carrots, peeled and chopped fine
  • 4 celery ribs, leaves removed and chopped fine
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper ( even more is better)
  • 1/3 cup barley
  • salt, to taste

Directions

  1. In a large dutch oven, brown meat, adding onions and garlic. When meat has lost its pink colour, drain off any excess fat if there is any visible.

2. Add all remaining ingredients, turn heat down to low so soup is barely simmering, cover, and let cook for about 2 hours (even longer is fine). After one hour, taste soup and add salt if necessary.

3. If you have leftovers (soup freezes well, so consider making the whole pot even if it’s a lot for your family), be aware that it tends to thicken when cool. When reheating, I always add a little more beef broth.

Enjoy. I’ve even put some Kale into the food processor and added it to the soup. You can’t even taste that it’s in the soup. It’s cooking on my stove as we speak.Ā 

Here is one of my favorite cookie recipes: Ginger Molasses Cookies. I made it this past Friday as a hostess gift. They are soft, chewy and just the right amount of molasses and ginger.

Crinkled Molasses Cookies

  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 3/4 butter
  • 1/4 molasses
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups of flour
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp of ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp of ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp salt

1. Cream butter, then add sugar, molasses and egg.

2. In a separate bowl combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, cloves and salt.

3. Add flour mixture to your creamed butter. Refrigerate for 1 hour.

4. Roll into whatever size balls you wish. Roll it into sugar. Place balls 2 inches apart.

5. Bake at 350 degrees between 8-10 mins. Depends on how big you make the cookies and how chewy you like them. I recommend baking them for 8 mins.

Makes between 2-4 dozen. Depends on the size of balls you make.

Enjoy!!! They will be devoured, I promise you!!! šŸ™‚ These will be a hit at Christmas.

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway for a $50 Gift Card to Stuck On You Labels.

Happy Thursday Everyone!!!

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 50 Shades of Blue, Red Hightlights, Hamburger Soup and Ginger Molasses Cookies

  1. I just ordered the tippi in that shade – it’s such a gorgeous color!

    Sequins&Stilettos

  2. Tara says:

    I love your hair cut, super adorable!

  3. Lilly says:

    Blue looks amazing on you! Love the nail polish color! šŸ™‚

  4. Heather says:

    MMM I love molasses cookies – and that necklace you are wearing is fabulous!

    XO
    Pearls & Paws

  5. shannon says:

    The soup sounds so delicious and perfect for a cold Fall day. Love your hair cut too!
    http://shannonhearts.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

