Oprah!!!! & Book Review: “Before I Go To Sleep” by S. J. Watson

This is what I am wearing today: a white tunic, with a pink cardigan, skinny jeans and my boots. As you can see I’m wearing a hat again, I’m finally going to get my hair done tonight. I can’t wait. My favorite part is the scalp massage. I could sit in the chair for hours :).

Cardigan & Jeans (Gap). Top ( H & M). Boots (Browns). Necklace (Stella & Dot). Hat (R W & Co.).

Guess what????? I’M GOING TO SEE OPRAH, AGAIN!!!! I’m so excited :). I saw one of her last shows 1.5 yrs ago, here is my post from my visit. I didn’t even know she was coming to town. Thank God for Facebook. Merry Christmas to me :). Is it wrong of me to already be planning my outfit??!!! 🙂 I think my sequin polka dot top will be very appropriate for this special occasion.

Book Review: “Before I Go To Sleep” by S. J. Watson

I just finished reading the book “Before I Go To Sleep” by S. J. Watson. It’s a phenomenal read. I finished it in two extremely busy days. I basically read like a fiend.

The premise of this book is similar to that of the book “The Pilot’s Wife” by Anita Shreve and the movie “50 First Dates” with Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore. The story is about a woman, named Christine, who has both short term and long term amnesia. She loses her memory after a “horrific car accident” and every time she wakes up, she doesn’t remember where she is, how old she is or what happened to her. The story parallels Anita Shreve’s book “The Pilot’s Wife”, in that all is not what it seems. It makes you question your life and whether you can truly trust the people in your life.

S. J. Watson captures your attention from the first paragraph: “The bedroom is strange. Unfamiliar. I don’t know where I am, how I came to be here. I don’t know how I’m going to get home.” (p.3) The reader is immersed in the story from the beginning. There is no unnecessary introduction, it catapults you right into the action. As a busy, working mom, this is the perfect book. It’s a page turner and a very quick read. Like I said, I finished it in two days.

I like how descriptive the author is. I love how he describes Christine, the main character, seeing herself aged for the first time; examining herself in the mirror and seeing all the scars, bumps, and wrinkles. “The face I see looking back at me is not my own. The hair has no volume…; the skin on the cheeks and under the chin sags; the lips are thin, the mouth turned down.” (p. 4-5) You can visualize Christine seeing herself for the first time. He uses adjectives effectively to immerse the reader into the story. You feel as though you are voyeur into Christine’s life.

The story though is not without its faults. Her cell phones are always charged, her husband never catches her with Dr. Nash, she doesn’t have any friends in her life, and she doesn’t inquire what the pills are that she finds (don’t worry I’m not ruining any storyline here!!!) There are other issues that I found with the story, but then I really would be revealing key parts of the story.

Bottom line is that I would totally recommend this book to read. Keep it in mind for a stocking stuffer for a friend or loved one. Great book. Definitely a must read. S. J. Watson does an amazing job for his first novel.

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway for a $50 Gift Card to Stuck On You Labels.

Happy Hump Day Everyone!!!!

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Book review, Fashion, Giveaway and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Oprah!!!! & Book Review: “Before I Go To Sleep” by S. J. Watson

  1. You look fantastic, Agi (could hats BE any more adorable on you?) and I’m so envious that you get to see Oprah. Again! Thanks for that book review – I’m looking forward to getting in some non-school-related reading over the holidays and may have to add that one to my list. Hope you’re having a great week!

    • You are very kind Bonnie. I hope you like the book, it’s very good and it great escape from your academic stuff.

      Thanks I’m super excited Oprah is coming. I didn’t know she was coming until i saw facebook this morning. I can’t wait. I’ll post a great blog for sure.

      agi:)

  2. Tara says:

    You look so cute in that hat, I love it!

  3. Great look! Keep up with the great outfits!

    It would mean a lot if you could check out my blog and leave a comment, I would love to hear what you think!

    xo
    Deanne

  4. Cute outfit Agi! 🙂 And how jealous am I of you for seeing Oprah?! VERY! That’s so awesome! That was something that was always on my bucket list but I just never got around to it. Have fun! Can’t wait to see that post!

  5. Giovanna says:

    Cute look! Loving your hat and cardi!

    xx
    Giovanna
    http://www.heyloveblog.com

Leave a Reply

