Holiday Basic Must Haves in Your Closet

Our computer crashed on Friday so now all my pictures are being held hostage by my PC. Thankfully my husband is a Computer Programmer and we are hoping to recover all the pictures and important documents, and then say goodbye to our PC. It’s a good thing we have  a MAC because it has come in handy. I’m still familiarizing myself with it, but it’s pretty user friendly.

I worked this past weekend and the pregnant ladies kept me busy. Our rat problem is finally under control. My husband went up into the attic to inspect our traps and they haven’t been tripped and/or licked clean, so that’s great news. Things are looking good.

Below are pictures of what I wore on Friday and on Monday. As you can see from my Friday outfit, I can’t get enough of stripes. Perfect day for a stripped sweater and boots.

Sweater and Pants (R W & Co.). Boots (Browns). Bracelets (Stella & Dot).

This is what I wore yesterday. Again it was the perfect day for a sweater. I went for the monochromatic look of different shades of pink. At first I layered a Gingham top underneath the sweater but you could totally see it, so I opted for a white botton top instead. I couldn’t resist wearing it with my pink trench coat.

Jeans (R W & Co.). Shirt (Jacob). Sweater & Necklace (J Crew). Boots (Browns). Bracelets (Stella & Dot).

Trench Coat (Jacob).

Here are my picks for Holiday Basic Must Haves. Having these basic pieces already in your closet will help you plan out and come up with great holiday outfits. For example, if you already have black pants and a great blazer, all you need is a great top to go with it. Having these basic items in your closet will save you time and money. I’ve divided them into sections to help you figure out which items you already have and which ones you need.

Black Pants (all these looks can be found at the Gap

Get yourself a great pair of black pants. Whether they are trouser cut, skinny, boot or straight, black pants are extremely versatile and a great piece to have in your closet.

1/2/3

Black Skirt (Jacob)

Black skirts are like black pants, they too go with everything. They can totally dress up a blouse or sweater. Try a pencil skirt, they work with every body type.

1/2/3

Classic Little Black Dress (Jacob)

What can I say about a LBD? It pretty much speaks for itself. It’s one of those pieces that will be in your closet for years and you will get much use out of it.

1/2/3

Blazer (H & M)

Having a boyfriend blazer can totally change up a look. It’s a perfect layering piece over a dress, blouse, or sweater. Again a versatile must-have piece for your closet.

Blouses (Jacob & R W & Co.).

Having a few blouses in your closet will give you many options when dressing for the holidays. You can wear it under a blazer or cardigan and you can wear it with jeans, skirt or black pants. The possibilities are endless.

1/2/3

Cardigans (Jacob)

I adore cardigans. They are a must-have staple in my closet. They are a perfect layering piece for the holidays. Finding ones in green or red or with sequins can dress up a simple LBD or any outfit.

1/2/3

Something Sequin (Jacob, H & M & Old Navy)

If all else fails, purchase something with sequins and you are set. Sequins paired with anything will spice up the outfit. These three options below are prefect examples of how you can add some flair to a simple outfit.

1/2/3

Black Tights (H & M)

Black tights are a staple in my wardrobe. They allow me to wear dresses and/or skirts in the winter and they keep me warm.

Shoes 

Get yourself a pair of great shoes as it can totally change up your outfit. Again these shoes can be worn all year round for many different occasions.

Statement Jewelry

I love statement necklaces!!!! They can dress up a simple t-shirt or complement your LBD. They are a perfect way to add some sparkle and shine to your outfit this holiday.

Great Clutch (Aldo)

Having a cute clutch is a great way to accessorize your outfit, add some color and/or shine to it.

1/2/3

I know that most of the items I showed are black, but that’s what makes them great basic pieces. They will go with anything. Having a few of these pieces in your closet already will help you plan out your holiday attire. Plus these pieces are great all year round.

May this blog inspire you to see what basic pieces you have in your closet and to purchase some this holiday season.

Happy Tuesday Everyone!!!!

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Holiday Basic Must Haves in Your Closet

  1. Don’t you just love sweater/coat weather?!? I love layering and feeling all cozy – now if only ID didn’t have cold weather for 9 months out of the year… 😉

    Sequins&Stilettos

  2. Tara says:

    Sorry to hear about your computer, that is never fun! I love your holiday picks, especially the sparkle!

  3. MonaLisaMom says:

    Reblogged this on MonaLisaMom and commented:
    This is a great blog with lots of good advice, especially post baby clothes shopping advice! Plus the holidays are almost here and we are going to need all the help we can get! Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

