‘Tis the Season For Making a List, Checking it Twice and All You Need Is Love

Before we get too much into the Holiday craze, I wanted to blog today about the spirit of Christmas. I think, myself included, we get so wrapped up in Christmas preparations, gift getting, baking, decorating, shopping and traveling that we forget the true meaning of Christmas. Although Christmas is about the birth of Jesus, it’s also about the spirit of giving, of caring, of helping out one another. You don’t have to be religious to celebrate Christmas and you certainly don’t have to be religious to get the true meaning of it.

I saw a movie many years ago called “Pay It Forward” where the premise was that a child did something nice for others and then they in return did something nice for someone else. That movie resonated with me because I feel like we as a society need more love in it. The world would be a much better place if we all were kinder, more patient, more loving and compassionate with one another. Sure this movie is idealistic but it doesn’t have to be, it can be reality. It starts with one person wanting to change the way the world is, to make it happier, to make it more fun, more safe. I want this world for myself and for my family. I want my son to grow up in this “happier” world. I don’t want my son to grow up surrounded by bitter, resentful, spiteful, sad, depressed people. Somedays I get very upset when I see the way people behave towards one another and then other days I have a renewed hope for society.

Here is my challenge for fellow bloggers, readers, parents, mothers, women, men, fathers, anybody out there who wants a better world: do something nice for someone else. It doesn’t have to be big or lavish, or expensive and it can be anonymous. The point isn’t how big the gesture is, it’s about the thought and feeling behind it. I promise you too will feel better helping someone else out.

  • buy the person behind you a cup of coffee at Tim Hortons/Starbucks
  • shovel your neighbor’s sidewalk
  • let the person merge into your lane
  • donate to Toy’s for Tots
  • sponsor a family for Christmas
  • donate to your local food bank
  • be a little more patient with your kids, yourself, with others
  • smile and say hello to strangers
  • hold the door open for someone
  • thank people when they hold the door open for you
  • donate blood (ok that’s the nurse in me :))
  • volunteer at your local shelter

These are just a few ways to bring a little more joy and holiday spirit to others. I challenge you to come up with creative ways to help someone out. For the third Christmas in a row, my family and I are sponsoring a family for Christmas. We want to teach our son to give back to others who are less fortunate than us. It also makes us feel good to be able to help someone else out. I wish we could do more, but if everyone just did a little bit, everyone would be taken care of. Remember that we all should be kinder to people all year around, but Christmas is a good time to start.

So please share this blog with others and I hope that you all find a way to help someone else out. Here is a YouTube video montage from one of my absolute favorite movies “Love Actually” done to “All You Need is Love”, because that’s really all we need!!!!

Happy Thursday Everyone!!!!

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in life, motherhood, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ‘Tis the Season For Making a List, Checking it Twice and All You Need Is Love

  1. Heather says:

    There is no better time to pay it forward than the holidays – love this!

    XO
    http://pearlsandpaws.blogspot.com/2012/11/friday-find-diy_16.html

  2. sofia says:

    Love you polka dot skirt. It’s beautiful!

    Have a great weekend.

    Sofia

    stylishlyinlove.blogspot.com

  3. Your outfits are fabulous! I love the polka dots!

    It would mean a lot if you could check out my blog and leave a comment, I would love to hear what you think!

    xo
    Deanne

    http://myfashavenue.blogspot.ca

Leave a Reply

