Plaid & Quinoa Salad

Woke up this morning with a sore throat :(.  I’m thinking that I desperately need a vacation, but since I can’t have that, the next best thing is a nap. So while my son naps today, so will I.

The fly update is an optimistic one. We are down to just a few stragglers. Thank God, because I’m so tired of killing them!!! We are still looking into how to solve our rodent issue. Will keep you guys updated, because I’m sure you are all waiting with bated breath :)!!!!

This is what I wore today. I bought this plaid shirt at Forever 21 a few years ago when I was in Vegas. It is sunny today but quite cold, so I decided to pair my plaid shirt with a cardigan and of course my booties!!! I realize how tired I look in this picture. Not the most flattering. Oh well!!!

Cardigan & Jeans (Gap). Plaid Shirt (Forever 21). Boots (Fergalicious).

What is Quinoa? Quinoa is a gluten free grain, a superfood and a great source of protein and fiber. It is becoming quite popular, and is a great alternative to rice and/or pasta. Cooking with Quinoa is quite easy, just follow the instructions on the package. We started eating Quinoa when my son was a baby. It was the first grain I introduced him to. I would mix it up with vegetables and he loved it. Now my favorite way of preparing quinoa is by making it into a salad. It’s a great way to get a lot of nutrients all at once, and also a great way to hide things like Kale. Here is my Quinoa Salad recipe.

  • Cook about 1 cup of Quinoa with a cube of chicken stock. Adds great flavor to the Quinoa.
  • Dice 1 red, yellow or orange pepper
  • Dice 1/3 cup of red onion
  • Add either 1 can of lentils or beans or both if you prefer
  • Add 1 can of corn
  • Dice 2 sticks of celery
  • Blend 2-3 Kale leaves de-stemmed in the food processor. Once you’ve blended it up, you can’t taste it.
  • Toss everything together.

Dressing

  • Juice of 1 freshly squeezed lemon
  • 1 tbsp of apple cider vinegar
  • 3 tbsp of olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Mix the dressing into the salad. Let the salad sit, cool and serve.

The possibilities of what you can put into the Quinoa Salad are endless. Experiment and see what combinations you like. Enjoy :)!!!

Happy Hump Day Everyone!!!!

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Book review, Fashion, life, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Plaid & Quinoa Salad

  1. First off, battling rodents AND flies? No fun!
    Second, love you in plaid. I think it may be the Oregon girl in me, but plaid is one of my favorite patterns for fall.
    Lastly, quinoa is a staple in my household. You are so right…the possibilities are endless. Thanks for sharing what sounds like a fantastic recipe!
    xo – Marion

    • Thanks Marion. Can I just say how much I love your blog!!! I just discovered it last week and I love it. You look so good pregnant. Your outfits are amazing. I was looking in your archives and found that you are the author of this picture that I pinned many months ago. Its you with a white blazer, jeans and a navy shirt underneath it. Love it!!! Yes battling rodents and flies has been an awful ordeal and I’m glad we are on the tail end of it all. Quinoa is amazing and so healthy.

      If you ever need a guest blogger, please let me know. I would totally be interested.

      Agi:)

  2. Cassy says:

    Looks yummy! Do you have any recipes wich include pumpkins? I am trying to gather recipes for my next blog post.

    Check it out and comment please! and I will follow your blog

    http://theworkette.blogspot.com/

    PS: your style is so realistic I love it!

  3. I’ll send them to your e-mail address.

Leave a Reply

