Fly Infestation, Cardigans and Slim Kicker

This is what I wore today. I love the color blocking in this sweater. The sun is shining and I thought it would be the perfect day for me to wear my cloche hat.

Sweater and Jeans (Gap). Hat (R W & Co.). Necklace (Stella and Dot). Watch (Michael Kors). Boots (Fergalicious).

We awoke Saturday morning to a least two dozen flies outside my son’s bedroom and about the same amount inside our guest bedroom. As you can well imagine, it was disgusting. My first thought was there is something dead somewhere. Well that somewhere was up on our attic. It’s been a while since my husband has been up there to check out our traps. I won’t go into graphic detail, but let’s just say he found the culprits (insert goosebumps all over my body!!!!). My husband geared up and into the attic he went to take care of business. I told him that I now believe we are even in the childbirth department. He will never give birth to a child (even if he had the choice) and I will never go up into the attic!!!!

We lay in bed Saturday night and heard our trap get tripped. Sadly, my husband had to go up again Sunday morning to find the traps empty and licked clean. The little buggers are getting smarter!!! I called Orkin yesterday,worried about our health and the guy was amazing. He told us that there is no risk to our health with all these flies, but he was concerned about the rats/mice. I will be contacting him today to see what he can do to help us with the rodent problem. I have killed so many flies this weekend that if I never see another one as long as I live, it will be too soon. My husband managed to make a few fly traps, not sure if they are working or if the flies are just dying. I don’t care as long as they are gone, because unless they are going to start contributing to my mortgage, they are not welcome in my house and that goes for any furry creature inhabiting the attic!!!!

Enough about flies, onto something warm and versatile: cardigans. I am a huge fan of cardigans. I believe I may have one in every color. They are perfect in all types of weather, great as a layering piece and can even dress up an outfit. Cardigans are great because they can hide things we want hidden!!! 🙂 Cardigans come in every shape, size and color. Below are different types, colors and styles of cardigans.

Shrugs: Perfect to wear over a strapless dress, summer dress, spaghetti straps


Everyday cardigan: Great to wear daily, adds a pop of color to your outfit and is a great layering piece

Cardigan (H & M). Jeans (R W & Co.). T-Shirt (Gap). Shoes (Aldo). Necklace (Banana Republic).

Example of a layering piece: Layer it under a jacket

Cardigan (H & M). Jeans and Jacket (R W & Co.). T-Shirt (Gap). Shoes (Aldo). Necklace (Banana Republic).

Wear it to work

Cardigan (Jacob). Skirt (R W & Co.). T-Shirt (Gap). Boots (Nine West). Necklace (Banana Republic). Watch (Michael Kors). Bracelets (Poshlocket).

Wear it over a Chambray Shirt to add a pop of color

Cardigan (Jacob). Chambray Shirt (American Eagle). Pants (R W & Co.). Boots (Fergalicious).

Layer it over a dress

Cardigan and Dress (Gap). Shoes and Watch (Michael Kors). Belt (Jacob). Bracelet (Etsy).

Pair it with leggings for a casual look

Cardigan and T-Shirt (Gap). Leggings (Jacob). Boots (EMU). Necklace (Banana Republic). Bracelets (Stella and Dot).

Add a little sparkle to your outfit

Cardigan (R W & Co.).

Cardigans a quick and relatively cheap way to change up an outfit and to add a pop of color to it.

Last but not least I was asked recently to review a website called Slim Kicker. Slim Kicker is a free site that is personalized for your weight loss needs. It tracks your calorie intake, gives you healthy recipe ideas, allows you to set up personal goals and rewards, and connects you with other people. I’ve had a chance to review the site and it looks promising for someone who wants to lose some weight. What I find unique about this site is that it gives you a chance to put rewards in for yourself at certain intervals. I like that it’s free and that you can connect with other people who are also trying to lose some weight. They will be releasing a tracking devise in the Spring which will help you track your exercise and movements. Once I receive it, I’ll let you guys know what I think of it.

I apologize that this blog was a mishmash/hodgepodge of everything, but that’s the kind of weekend I had.

May this blog inspire you to check your attic often for furry little friends, to prevent a fly infestation, to purchase a few different cardigans to spruce up your outfits and to take a look at Slim Kicker’s site if you are interested in losing weight.

Happy Monday Everyone!!!!

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Fashion, life, Product Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fly Infestation, Cardigans and Slim Kicker

  1. Tara says:

    You look adorable in hats 🙂

  2. Heather says:

    That striped dress is fantastic! I hope you guys get rid of those darn flies!

    XO
    Pearls & Paws

  3. natasha says:

    Love your boots! 🙂

    xo, tasha
    twenty-something blog

Leave a Reply

