BULLYING: IT MUST BE STOPPED!!!!!

This is a picture of Amanda Todd. This young, beautiful, 15 yr old girl with her whole life ahead of her, took her own life this past Wednesday Oct 10 because of chronic bullying. A month ago, she posted a video on You Tube describing the endless bullying she experienced the past 3 years. I can’t even begin to imagine the pain and suffering she endured over that period of time, the loneliness she must have felt and the feelings of hopelessness that lead her to end her life.

TO AMANDA’S BULLIES: YOU ARE COWARDS!!!! I FEEL SORRY FOR YOU, THAT YOU FELT THE NEED TO TERRORIZE THIS BEAUTIFUL GIRL IN ORDER TO MAKE YOURSELVES FEEL BETTER. DO YOU SLEEP BETTER AT NIGHT KNOWING THAT AMANDA SUFFERED AND FINALLY ENDED HER LIFE BECAUSE OF YOUR ENDLESS TAUNTS AND TORMENT??? WHAT COULD AMANDA HAVE POSSIBLY DONE TO DESERVE THIS??? I HOPE THE POLICE FIND YOU AND TREAT YOU THE SAME WAY YOU TREATED AMANDA. AMANDA IS NOW FREE OF YOUR TERROR, YOU MONSTERS. YOU ARE THE TRUE MONSTERS IN THIS WORLD!!!!

I too endured endless bullying from grades 6-9 and not until those girls left for high school did things change for me. My mom went in and spoke to the Principal which only made matters worse. Nothing was done and the bullying continued. I am thankful that social media did not exist back in the early 90’s, because I am scared to think what might have happened. A few years ago, one of the girls who bullied me sent me an e-mail apologizing. I forgave her because I realized how much guts it took to apologize 15 + years later. Around the same time, the “ring leader” tried to befriend me on Facebook. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw the friend request. I replied that I was under the impression we weren’t friends in junior high, so why would she care what I am up to now. Needless to say I declined her request. Since then, I learned she has a daughter and I hope for both their sakes they never learn what it feels like to be bullied. No one deserves that!!!

I’ve read many articles and comments about who is to blame for Amanda’s death. The blame lies with all of us. We as a society failed Amanda and other kids like her. Instead of blaming her parents, the bullies, the schools, etc, we should be focusing on how to stop this. BULLYING NEEDS TO STOP!!!! How many more children need to die before we work together to fix this problem? The first step is to educate our kids, and that starts at home by the parents. If we as parents are tolerant and accepting of others, then our children will be as well. We need to start talking to our kids about bullying. We need to teach them to help someone if they see that they are being bullied, to sit with the person at lunch, to help them. Our focus should be on raising our daughters to respect themselves; to realize they are worth something and that they don’t have to compromise who they are in order to get a guy. Decent guys don’t behave that way!!! Next, we need to teach our sons to treat girls with respect and to value them.  Teaching our children to respect themselves and each other will promote tolerance and acceptance of others, which in turn will hopefully curb the incidence and eventually stop bullying.

I am so angered by the tragic and senseless death of Amanda. Her death should serve as a lesson: BULLYING NEEDS TO STOP!!! I hope that by posting this I bring awareness, trigger discussions and actions against bullying. I know that as a mother, I will do everything in my power to educate my son about bullying and protect him from bullies. The way to deal with bullies is through numbers. If we stand together, the bullies don’t stand a chance. Let’s stop blaming each other and start working together to fix this epidemic!!!!

For more information about bullying, or if you are a child being bullied you can go to the Stop A Bully website for more information and for help. You are not alone. There is always help.

May this blog inspire parents to talk to their kids and to take action against bullying.

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in life, motherhood, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to BULLYING: IT MUST BE STOPPED!!!!!

  1. Karen Ceraldi says:

    Kellen just asked me what your stop sign message said and when I told him he asked if we could get that sign and put it on our house. Made me all teary eyes.

  2. Karen Ceraldi says:

    “eyed” 🙂

  3. I couldn’t agree more, when it comes to bullying, we all need to take responsibility.

  4. Bullying is unacceptable, period ! Great post !
    My Blog – A Pretty Nest

  5. Lori says:

    You go girl. I love all your thoughts and agree that it is everyone’s problem and that we as parents can help our kids turn this issue around in the future.

Leave a Reply

