“Mama’s” Smoothie and Different Ways to Wear a Turtleneck

The name “Mama’s” Smoothie was coined by my husband. About 5 years ago I started making them, in an effort to eat healthier. As the years progressed, my recipe for the smoothie evolved. It started out with blueberries, banana’s and yogurt and turned into quite the variety of both fruits and green leafy vegetables. Yes you read right, green leafy vegetables!!!! 🙂 I took a recipe from Pinterest, modified it and made it my own. I warn you that it doesn’t look like much, but it tastes amazing and is full of nutrition. My 3 yr old son will even drink it. Here is my recipe for “Mama’s” Smoothie.

  • 1 banana
  • 1.5 cups of frozen blueberries
  • 1 cup of frozen fruit: I use whatever I have in the freezer. Frozen cherries, mangoes, mixed berries.
  • 3 heaping spoons of Greek Yogurt
  • 2 tbsp of freshly ground Flaxseed
  • 2 tbsp of Flaxseed Oil
  • 1 tbsp of ground Chia
  • 1 tbsp of Hemp Hearts
  • 1 tsp of ground Cinnamon
  • a handful of Spinach (yes Spinach!!! :))
  • a handful of de-stemmed Kale
  • Fill the jug up with water

Blend on the liquefy setting until desired thickness. I blend it quite well so that way the Kale and Spinach get chopped up nicely.

You can add protein powder and/or some peanut butter.

Like I said before, my son loves it!!! After I drink it, I have more energy from the smoothie then I do from drinking coffee. I’ll post a link here where you can get more information on the health benefits of eating Kale. Just humor me and try it. I promise you won’t be disappointed. Below is a picture of the smoothie.

Since Fall is upon us, my fashion advice for this blog, is to get yourself a turtleneck. It doesn’t have to cost you an arm and a leg, and I’m pretty sure if you go through your closet, you may even find one hiding in there. Turtlenecks are extremely versatile and very flattering on all body types. Here are some great turtlenecks for varying budgets.

From the Gap:

Cowlneck Sweater– comes in 7 different colors $44.95

Striped Cowlneck Sweater– comes in 3 different colors $49.95

Stick Turtleneck Sweater– comes in 3 different colors $59.95

From J. Crew. J Crew is now available in Canada :).

Merino Turtleneck Sweater– 6 different colors $98.00

Collection Cashmere Turtleneck– 10 different colors $ 230.00. This one is totally a splurge. I’ve always wanted to have a cashmere sweater!!! Someday 🙂

Below are different ways to wear it.

You can wear it with a skirt and boots for a more professional look. Below are 2 different looks featuring a turtleneck with a skirt.

Turtleneck and Skirt (R W and Co). Tights (Jacob). Boots (Nine West).

Turtleneck (R W and Co). Skirt (Gap). Boots (Browns). Tights (Jacob).

A more casual look is what I wore today. Turtleneck with jeans and boots.

Turtleneck (R W and Co). Jeans (Gap). Boots (Browns). Watch (Michael Kors). Bracelet (The Bay).

Use the turtleneck as a layering piece under a cardigan.

Turtleneck (R W and Co). Cardigan (Jacob). Jeans (Gap). Boots (Fergalicious).

Wear it with cropped pants a jean jacket.

Turtleneck (R W and Co). Jean Jacket and Pants (Gap). Shoes (Aldo).

Wear it with trouser jeans, boyfriend blazer and heels for a date night.

Turtleneck and Blazer (R W and Co). Jeans (Gap). Heels (Aldo).

Pair it with tweed shorts, a leather jacket, tights and boots for a more preppy look.

Turtleneck (R W and Co). Shorts (Gap). Leather Jacket (Danier Leather). Boots (Nine West).

Last look is wear it over top a dress with tights and booties.

Turtleneck (R W and Co.). Dress (Gap). Tights (Jacob). Booties (Fergalicious).

May this blog inspire you to make up your own smoothie and/or brave to make mine, and to purchase a turtleneck and see how many different ways you can wear it.

How’s the closet cleaning going??? 🙂 Will continue part 2 on Tuesday.

Happy Friday Everyone!!! Enjoy your weekend 🙂

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Mama’s” Smoothie and Different Ways to Wear a Turtleneck

  1. Heather says:

    That smoothie sounds FABULOUS and I love a good cowlneck (The look with the army pants is too cool!)

    XO
    Pearls & Paws

Leave a Reply

