Self-Image: How you see yourself and different ways of wearing a simple white t-shirt

Skirt (Old Navy). Cardigan and Tank Top (Jacob). Shoes (Aldo). Necklace (Banana Republic). Bracelets (Poshlocket). Watch (Michael Kors).

If you think you are seeing double, you are not, yes I have worn this outfit before. I couldn’t resist wearing it one last time before Fall sets in. The yellow reminds me of the Natasha Bedingfield song “Pocket Full of Sunshine”. Whenever I wear this cardigan it makes me think of Summer and glorious sunshine.

A few weeks ago I read a blog about self image and how we see ourselves. Then on another blog I read something similar. It got me thinking about how I see myself, and sometimes its not very good. I think the biggest problem is media, magazines and celebrities. It’s really hard to accept yourself for who you are when you are constantly inundated with magazine articles telling you how to change the shape of your nose with some contouring, or how to look younger, or different plastic surgeries. When you see celebrities getting boob jobs, plastic surgery left, right and center and you see how skinny/gaunt/anorexic they look, its hard not to want to change something about yourself. I mean if a celebrity doesn’t feel good about themselves, then what chance do we simple folk have??? We are exposed to so many images that tell us we are not good enough the way we are. It’s no wonder teenage girls develop an eating disorder, have body dysmorphic disorder, and don’t value their bodies.

I know I am just as guilty of having poor self-esteem and not feeling good about myself as many other women out there. It’s hard not to, especially when that’s what society is telling us. Reading these blogs made me not only think about how I see myself, but how I want my son to see himself. I don’t want him to look in the mirror and see his flaws. I want him to look in the mirror and love the freckle on his lip, or the color of his eyes and hair. I want him to love himself for who we created him to be. God made us the way he did and we should embrace the way we look. The world would be very boring if everyone looked the same. Beauty comes in many shapes and forms, and it’s not what’s on the outside that counts.

I want to start embracing the way I look, because my husband loves me the way I am. He doesn’t want a blonde bombshell with fake boobs. He loves this brunette, boyish framed woman. I want my son to see that I love who I am, and the way that I look, and most importantly that I accept myself for who I am. I want to start taking compliments better, because lets face it ladies, we aren’t all that good at taking them. We are really good at deflecting them or at making self-deprecating comments.

So how do we go about changing the way we see ourselves??? I think the first thing is to stop looking at these airbrushed magazines thinking that this is the ideal woman. We need to look at these magazines and realize that these women have stylists, and makeup artists, and spend hours and hours in the chair to look like that. Jennifer Aniston once said in an interview that even she doesn’t look like that. She has a team of people who make her up. The next thing is to stop being so hard on ourselves. No one has the perfect body, not even Jennifer Aniston. I’m sure we could find some cellulite on her :). My point is that we need to look at ourselves in the mirror and see the beauty looking back at us, not what we don’t like. I love how on “What Not to Wear”, Carmindy, always asks the person what they like about themselves? She highlights the person’s best features. She gets them to see themselves for who they really are; to see the beauty that is within them. Another important thing is to do things to restore your confidence in yourself. Whether that’s getting back to the gym, getting your nails/hair done, or buying something that makes you feel pretty. I know I feel much better about myself when I’ve had a bit of pampering. Also buying something that makes you feel pretty does wonders for your self-confidence. When was the last time you bought yourself something that made you feel pretty? The last thing is to surround yourself with people who bring you up, not bring you down. You need people in your life that see you for who you are, the “real” you and want to be around the “real” you. These people will bring out the best in you, and make you be the best person you can be.

Ask yourself a few questions:

I am beautiful because…

I am strong because…

I feel best about myself when…

I love being me because…

I wish that I could give myself permission to…

I always feel comfortable in my own skin when…

The lesson I have learned about my body image this year is…

I took these questions from Simply Sarah’s blog

Take the time and answer these questions. It’s a lot harder than you think, and you’ll be amazed at your answers. Write it down, and on “those” days when you feel like crap about yourself, take it out, read it, and remind yourself why you are beautiful.

My fashion tip for this blog is simple, get yourself a simple white t-shirt. I know I’ve talked endlessly about my love for Gap’s Pure Body white t-shirt, but there is a reason. A white t-shirt is so incredibly versatile and can carry you from season to season. Below are some different ways to wear a white t-shirt. It’s all about how you accessorize it.

Pair the white t-shirt with red crop pants and accessorize it with a great statement necklace.

T-Shirt (Gap). Pants (Gap). Necklace (Etsy). Shoes (Aldo). Watch (Michael Kors). Bracelets (Stella & Dot).

For the fall add a jean skirt, tights, boots and a warm sweater.

T-shirt and Jean Skirt (Gap). Sweater and Tights (Jacob). Boots (Browns). Necklace (Etsy).

Add a cardigan, great necklace, belt, skinny black pant and flats. A great casual look.

Cardigan, T-Shirt and Pants(Gap). Belt (Jacob). Necklace (Banana Republic). Shoes (Aldo).

For a great weekend outfit, pair it with trouser jeans, cardigan and nude ballet flats.

T-Shirt and Jeans (Gap). Cardigan (H & M). Flats (Aldo). Necklace (Banana Republic).

It’s a great layering piece under a light weight sweater, some skinny jeans and boots.

T-Shirt and Jeans (Gap). Turtleneck (J. Crew). Boots (Browns).

Dress it up with a skinny jean, boyfriend blazer, a great statement necklace and some sexy heels.

T-Shirt (Gap). Jeans and Blazer (R W & Co). Heels (Aldo). Necklace (Stella & Dot).

So ladies get yourselves a great white t-shirt and see all the different ways you can wear it. One word of advice: get a few of the same t-shirt that way if you stain it, you have a couple more.

May this blog inspire you to examine how you see yourself, to accept and love yourself for who you are, to stop comparing yourself to celebrities and to get yourself a great white t-shirt and put together an outfit that makes you feel pretty!!!! 🙂

Happy Thursday Everyone!!!

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Fashion, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Self-Image: How you see yourself and different ways of wearing a simple white t-shirt

  1. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

