The Rat Race: living in Vancouver and yes you can wear white after Labor Day!!!

Cardigan and Tank Top (Jacob). Skirt (Old Navy). Sandals (Aldo). Watch (Coach). Bracelets (Poshlocket, Poshlocket).

This is what I wore today to the park with my son. It looks like Summer is going no where here in the lower Mainland, yipee!!!! I’m looking forward to getting more use out of my Summer clothes. I like it 🙂

First off, happy first week back to school!!! We start the craziness on Thursday as my son starts preschool that day. Good luck to all the teachers, parents and students this week 🙂

Second of all, I want to thank my “Facebook friend” again for the Metallica t-shirt inspired blog. I had no idea it would be so well received. Thank you to everyone who reads my blog. My followers are growing with each blog and so are the comments and views. Please keep them coming, I love hearing from you.

Now onto my blog: The Rat Race: living in Vancouver. About a month ago, an acquaintance of mine posted on her blog( The Pursuit of Happyness) about leaving this crazy life we live here in the lower Mainland, and heading somewhere quieter, slower and cheaper. Her e-mail and blog got me thinking about my life, and how all we do is keep up with the “rat race”. I’ve been thinking about this for a while now, ever since my husband lost his job in February. He now has a job, but all this upheaval got us both thinking about why we continue to live here in the lower Mainland?

According to Global News “Vancouver is now the most expensive place to live in North America.”  Another mind blowing statistic published by the Huff Post is: “Vancouver is the second-least affordable city for housing among 325 major developed cities”. While searching for some stats, I stumbled upon this blog which describes our situation perfectly:

“When we got around to salary discussions, the employer indicated they would be willing to go as high as ?K. I pointed out that this was the salary I earned ten years ago.“Oh you can’t compare a Vancouver salary to what you would get in Silicon Valley!”
“I’m not. That’s what I was paid ten years ago…in Vancouver.”
<awkward silence>
Ten years of additional experience, an additional advanced degree, plus international experience in the hotbed of technology in a significant role at a successful startup = no incremental value to a Vancouver firm.”

This is exactly the challenge my husband and I faced and still face today. He is a computer programmer with 2 Degrees and 14 years of experience, and let me tell you, he worked his ass off day and night to find a new job. One of the problems he encountered was finding a job that pays the same. Most companies do not want to pay the wage of someone with my husband’s qualifications and years of experience. His new salary doesn’t even take into account the increase in cost of living. We struggled with what to do. Do we move somewhere else where the cost of living is cheaper? Does he take a job with lesser pay? Do we sell our house and down size? Do I go back full time and put my son in day care? There are no easy answers and we haven’t really figured out what we are going to do. We are fortunate that for the time being my husband has a job that allows us to continue to live in our house, and to continue to live in the lower mainland. We struggle with what to do every day. We love our home, the community of friends we have built, and living near an Ocean surrounded by mountains. So what do we do?????

I told my husband about the subject of my  blog, and he asked me what I’ve concluded? To be honest, I told him, I don’t know. I don’t have the answers. All I know is that people need to do what is right for themselves. So what is right for us? I don’t have the answer to that either. I want us to be happy and for us not to feel so stressed about living here, but I don’t know what to do. Neither of us knows what to do. I feel like if we moved away to some place new there would new challenges and struggles, but would it be less stressful, less of a challenge? That is the million dollar question!!!!! (Literally)

So for now I leave you with this: my husband and I are trying to do what is best for us and for our son, what is next is unknown. What I know for sure is that we need to stick together and work as a team and if we can continue to do that, life will sort itself out. I’m not saying sit back and continue to complain and worry. What I’m saying is to continue to work together to come up with a plan and/or solution that best fits you and your family. And if what you are doing feels like the right thing then that’s what you need to do.

I have spoken with many of our friends regarding living here and they feel the same way. Many of us are stuck in this rut, and confused about what to do. Let me know what you think about living this “rat race”.  Are you living a “rat race” or have you found your happiness?

To end my blog here is my fashion tip: yes you can wear white after Labor Day!!! I’m happy to tell you ladies that wearing white after Labor Day is no longer considered taboo. Below are different ways to incorporate a white blazer and white pants into your fall and winter wardrobe.

Add a red tank top, cropped jeans and a biker booties to a white blazer.

White Blazer and Jeans (R W and C0). Tank top (Jacob). Necklace (Banana Republic). Boots (Fergalicious c/o Sterling Shoes).

Dress it up with a black tank top, turquoise bubble necklace, skinny jeans and some ankle boots.

White Blazer and Jeans (R W and Co). Tank Top (Jacob). Necklace (Etsy). Boots (Aldo).

For a more casual look add a t-shirt, bubble necklace, cropped red pants and ballet flats.

Jacket (R W and Co). T-shirt and Cropped Pants (Gap). Necklace (Etsy). Shoes (Aldo).

For a date night, pair it with a trouser jeans, a blouse, statement necklace and patent slingbacks.

White Jacket and Blouse (R W and Co). Trouser Jeans (Gap). Necklace (Stella and Dot). Shoes (Aldo).

Add a jean jacket, a color block sweater and ballet flats to white pants for a casual every day look.

Jean Jacket (Gap). Sweater (Gap). Pants (Gap). Shoes (Aldo). Necklace (Banana Republic).

Add a nice, rich purple blouse and sandal for a girl’s night out look.

Blouse (Mexx). Pants (Gap). Sandals (Steve Madden). Bracelet (Stella and Dot). Watch (Michael Kors). Necklace (Banana Republic).

The last look is a more dressy one with a nice black top and patent shoes. Black and white is very popular for fall. You could also add a black boyfriend blazer and a red scarf to finish the look.

Top (R W and Co). Pants (Gap). Shoes (Aldo). Watch (Michael Kors). Bracelets (Poshlocket, Poshlocket).

May this blog inspire you to stop running the “rat race”, figure out what is right for you and your family, and to brave something white this Fall/Winter.

Happy Tuesday Everyone!!! 🙂

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Fashion, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Rat Race: living in Vancouver and yes you can wear white after Labor Day!!!

  1. You guys will figure everything out! Love the white blazer!

  2. Good luck with everything. Times are tough and in the end I believe we will never feel bad for doing what is best for our families. 🙂

    Sequins&Stilettos

  3. I love this white after labor day! I am going to debut a new white Halston Heritage dress I just got! That rule is sooooo outdated! PS I never knew you were from Vancouver! I went to college in Langley at Trinity Western! Love your city!!!

    • I can’t wait to see the white halston dress. You will totally have to post pictures. I agree the rule is totally outdated!!!! I’m originally from Alberta and moved here to be with my husband. Vancouver is a beautiful city, thank you.

  4. Forgot to ask, are you originally from Vancouver? What brought you here? What did you study?

  5. Pingback: “My husband’s new salary doesn’t take into account the increase in cost of living. We struggle with what to do. Do we move somewhere where the cost of living is cheaper? Do we sell our house and downsize? We haven’t really figured out what

    • Thank you for your blog as it helped me write mine and helped get my point across!!!

      Agi:)

      • space889 says:

        hi, I read your post from VREAA website. The company I’m working at was having trouble find good candidates for its senior system analyst position. They are considering making an offer to someone that’s not 100% satisfactory. If your husband is interested then he might consider applying ASAP. The job description can be found here – http://www.cclgroup.com/Systems_Developer.aspx

        Not sure if the salary will be up to your standards though and you will face trading restrictions. Also not a good fit if your husband like to do actual long software product development cycles as this is an in-house IT department doing custom in-house products and data warehouse stuff.

      • Thank you so much. I’ll pass along the information to my husband.

        Agi:)

Leave a Reply

