Back to school: A new beginning and some sexy little booties

Sweater (Gap). Jeans (R W and Co). Necklace (Stella and Dot). Bracelet (Stella and Dot). Watch (Michael Kors). Shoes (Toms).

This is the outfit I wore this morning to a playdate as it was quite cold and dreary. Now that the sun is shining it seems silly that I even thought about wearing a sweater this morning.

On Friday my husband, son and I went back to school shopping. My son is starting preschool this September. Where did the time go??? It seems like just yesterday he was born. I’ll try and be brave the first day of school and wait until I’m in my car before sobbing uncontrollably. This is a big step for both of us, but I believe that we are ready.

My husband’s aunt was visiting a month ago and slipped a $20 into Aiden’s piggy bank. I thought perfect, we will use it to buy him a new back pack for school. Ever since I mentioned it to my son, that’s all he can talk about. So the day finally came. On Friday, we headed to Staples to get some back to school supplies. My husband and I decided to let my son pick out which ever back pack he wanted. He spotted Lightening McQueen and that was it, he wouldn’t take it off his back all day. He even slept with it. I’m so relieved and excited that he is embracing the “back to school” experience.

This whole back to school shopping triggered a discussion between my husband and I. We were talking about how much he loves the fall and how much I loathe it. I’m a summer girl, love the sun and the heat. My husband loves the leaves falling, the crisp fall mornings and the different colors nature turns into. He describes Fall as the start of new beginnings; the start of new learning and of new potential and possibilities. I know I loved back to school as a kid, not for the back to school part, but for the new school supplies. I loved the smell of the new pencils and paper. Yup I’m a nerd, what can I say?!!! 🙂 Now that my son is starting this process, I’m enjoying experiencing it through his eyes. I love how excited he got over his new back pack and his new indoor shoes.

For the past 4 years, my husband and I have donated school supplies to various charities. This year, while getting my latte at Starbucks, I saw a poster for the Salvation army looking for school supply donations. We want to start teaching my son to give back to those less fortunate. I know that Aiden is far too young to understand, but we feel its never too early to start. Here is the link if you are interested: Salvation Army. If you don’t live in British Columbia check out the web for charities in your city. So in the next month, when you are out shopping with your kids, get an extra pack of pencils, erasers, paper, or makers and donate it or make a donation directly to the Salvation Army. I know that it will make a huge difference to a child and it will make you feel better.

My fashion tip for this blog is simple: get yourself a pair of booties. They are all the rage right now. Every magazine I pick up, I see boots, booties and more booties. I was running errands on Friday and walked past a gorgeous pair of Fergalicious boots. I tried them on for fun and although they were stunning, the heel was much too high for every day wear. The sales lady pointed out these brown motorcycle booties and it was love at first sight. My husband is always saying how much he loves a woman in motorcycle boots, so I figured it was a win-win situation for both of us :). I love them because they have a nice chunky heel, I can wear it every day while running after my son and I can wear it with almost anything in my closet. I think I’m going to love Fall more this year because of these boots. So here you have it, my new love:

Fergalicious boots from Sterling Shoes.

Is it wrong to love a pair of shoes??? 🙂

May this blog inspire new beginnings this Fall, a new appreciation for Fall, to give back to someone in need and to spoil yourself with a sexy pair of boots.

Happy Monday Everyone!!!! 🙂

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Fashion, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Back to school: A new beginning and some sexy little booties

  1. Greg Mayer says:

    You forgot to mention the first place you’ll be wearing those sexy booties…
    The Metallica concert!!
    Which just makes me love you all the more!
    🙂

  2. Those are some great booties that will be so versatile this fall and winter! That is so great you are teaching your son early about giving. You will never regret that.
    Great blog!

    • Thanks Sky. I can’t wait to wear them on the weekend. I’ve got my outfits all picked for the launch of my new fall boots. I feel like a kid at Christmas. By the way I love your blog. I love how you are a mom, but dress so stylish 🙂

  3. Sophie says:

    I totally have to agree with Greg about the fall thing…it surely is the best season, although I’m not sure the colours are as dramatic here as they are on the east coast, particularly in New England. But it has always been my favourite season as well, followed closely by spring.

  4. Tairalyn says:

    Great Boots – completely a FALL MUST…. .You are going to look SMASHING in them!

    Xo
    Tairalyn

  5. Adorable booties, and best of luck to your little one in kindergarten! I’m also a fall person, although like you, I love the smell of fresh new school supplies as much as I do the falling leaves and cooler temps. 🙂

    • Hi Bonnie, Thanks so much, yes the first day of pre-school should be interesting, considering i teared up yesterday when we brought our payment to the school. I am going to be strong until I can get in my car and then the flood gates will open. There is something about the smell of fresh school supplies 🙂 Hope your first week back teaching wasn’t too hectic.

Leave a Reply

