My visit to Oprah and a little black dress

I wanted to thank everyone who read my last blog “30 year old Teenagers”!!! I got lots of positive feedback and I’m so happy that I was able to touch so many lives. I got lots of e-mails saying how many of you could relate to my story; that’s the point of my blog. I want to write about life, about my experiences and for people to realize that many of us feel the same way; you are not alone.

This is what I wore last Thursday. I don’t always post what I wear but this is a good example of a great easy everyday outfit. Oh and if you know me I love cardigans:)

The hat (Aritzia).Cardigan and yellow tank top (Jacob). Jeans (R W & Co.) Sandals (Steve Madden). Watch (Coach).

On Wednesday March 16, 2011 I checked my e-mail in the morning and got the best new of my life (ok well maybe the second best news). I got the golden ticket!!!! I was going to see a taping of the Oprah show!!! The exact wording was “Great news! Your ticket reservation request has been selected for the 04/12/2011 A show taping”. I just about had a heart attack. My in-laws were visiting and my mother-in-law couldn’t figure out why I was crying, shaking and screaming. When I told her that I got tickets to see Oprah, she said “That’s nice Agi dear”. Clearly my mother-in-law is not nearly as enthusiastic about things as I am. Anyways I called my husband in hysterics and told him the incredible news. I have to say that I have an amazing husband. He was so excited for me. Not only was he excited for me but supportive. We didn’t really have the money to go to Chicago, but my husband didn’t say anything, we just booked our tickets and went and had an amazing time :).

So the quick back story of how I got tickets, because I know you all want to know and you all have asked “how did you get tickets?”. Its honestly as simple as when Oprah announced that 2011 will be her last year, I thought I’m going to try and get tickets. Its been a dream of mine for as long as I can remember (its on my bucket list) and I thought what’s the worst that can happen? I don’t get tickets. And for almost a year that’s what happened, I would apply on line and get a very nice rejection e-mail. But on Wednesday March 16, 2011, I received a very different e-mail. I have to say never give up on your dreams, because had I, I would have never had the chance to see Oprah. Its like the Journey song “Don’t stop Believin‘” and I didn’t.

We had less than 1 month to buy our plane tickets, get a hotel and ensure my mother-in-law could watch our son. I also had to make sure that my best friend and her husband could make it, since I had reservations for 4 tickets. Thank God for the internet and friend’s who have been to Chicago. I’ve never been and truth be told, all I really cared about what seeing Oprah. I didn’t think Chicago had much to offer. But boy was I wrong. I started reading things on the internet and immediately fell in love with the windy city. I realized that Chicago has more to offer then just Oprah. I made hotel reservations at Sutton Place, which is in an amazing location, located close to Magnificent Mile and to this amazing restaurant called “The Pancake House“. I will say it again, thank God for the internet!!! I spent about 1 week researching hard what to see and do in Chicago.

Before I get to my list of must see attractions in Chicago, below is a picture of my husband and I on our way to Seattle to catch a plane to Chicago. I was so excited when we crossed the boarder to the States, that when the boarder guard asked “where we were going?” I couldn’t help myself, I told him “We were going to see Oprah!!!”. At least I got a smile out of him πŸ™‚

FYI, before we went, I purchased a City Pass which got us into 5 places for $84/person (well worth the price). Try buying things like passes for attractions on line, they are usually cheaper.

This is my list of must see places and things to do in Chicago. I know there is much more to see and do, but we were limited in time. We had 6 days to try and see the best of Chicago. So here you have it:

1. Field Museum– A must. My husband and I just loved it.

2. Steppenwolf Theater– we saw a great play “Sex with Strangers”.

3. Lake Michigan

4. Magnificent Mile

5. Giordano’s Pizza– amazing deep dish pizza.

6.Millennium Park– Located on the shores of Lake Michigan. The bean seen below is a great meeting point and attraction.

7. John Hancock Center– this is the view from the John Hancock Center

8. Willis Tower – the old Sear’s Tower

9. Quartino– great Italian food for a good price.

10. Morton’s -we celebrated our taping of the Oprah show by going to Morton’s for dinner. Amazing steak.

11. Architectural Boat Cruise – a great way to see the city of Chicago and learn its history. Had no idea that in 1871, Chicago was almost completely destroyed by a fire.

12. Hop On, Hop Off bus. Great way to see Chicago and its main attractions.

13. Shedd Aquarium

14. Oprah- on our way to the taping.

At Harpo Studios.

I have to say that from the moment we entered Harpo Studios, the staff were amazing. They made this into such a special and memorable experience. They embraced our enthusiasm and encouraged it. They were nothing but courteous and professional. The show itself was a bit of a let down (ok who are we kidding here, me along with everyone else was hoping for something under their seats!!!), it was about infertility and we only taped half the show with our audience, but Oprah herself was gracious, kind, wise and larger than life. I had the chance to sit right across from her and at one point we made eye contact. I’m sure she will never remember that moment, but I will never forget it. She spent almost 1 hr after the show taping ended answering questions. I know that the reason I was chosen to attend the show was not for the show itself but for what Oprah said afterwards. A mother in the audience asked what advice would Oprah give to her for her daughters. Oprah’s answer was this “Our jobs as parents is to ensure that we allow our children to be the best they can be, to grow into their highest and fullest potential”. Oprah, I will never forget that, because as a parent to a 3 year old boy, I want the best for my son, for him to be the best he can be, to live his dreams and to sore to great heights. She brought tears to my eyes when she said that because I knew she was speaking from the heart and speaking the truth. So thank you Oprah for that, I will never forget my Oprah show experience. Oh and an added surprise, when the show aired, my husband and I were shown on tv. Below is a picture a friend took of her tv screen of us on Oprah.

I want to end this blog with a little black dress. Every woman should own a little black dress that makes them feel sexy. I wore this dress for the first time in Chicago and my husband loved it. Since then I have worn it on many different occasions and have to say its an amazingly versatile dress. So ladies, if you don’t own one, go out and treat yourself to a little black dress that makes you feel special and makes your husband or boyfriend go crazy. You’ll thank me πŸ™‚ Below is a couple of pictures of me in my little black dress.

Dress (Jacob). Necklace and bracelet (Stella and Dot). Shoes (Aldo).

May this blog inspire you to always follow your dreams and to purchase a little black dress that makes you feel pretty. If you feel like you have no where to wear it, then create a reason to wear it.

Happy Monday everyone!!! πŸ™‚

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My visit to Oprah and a little black dress

  1. thewritemama says:

    I need a new little black dress to drive my husband crazy : )

Leave a Reply

