Homemade “McDonald’s” and Wedges

Since much to my dismay, my son absolutely loves McDonald’s chicken nuggets and fries, I decided yesterday to make my own healthier version of their nuggets and fries. To go along with dinner I made a black bean salsa with roasted corn  salad.

So first lets start with a timeline, because if you are like me, time is very hard to come by. I’ll be honest with you, this meal is not a fast one, but it is well worth the wait, time and effort. From beginning to end, including prep, cleaning, and frying the fries and nuggets, total time approximately 2 hrs. I know it seems like a lot of time, but its certainly a healthier option than McDonald’s, the black bean salsa is amazing, and its a nice treat for the family without breaking the bank.

Now onto the actual making of dinner. I first made the Black Bean Salsa with Roasted Corn. I altered the recipe slightly by omitting the jalapeno and the mango’s and adding kale. Kale is found to be a “super food” and is very healthy for you. For those of you who have never worked with kale, the first thing you need to do is make sure you remove it from the stem. Then I washed it and put it into the food processor along with the cilantro. The food processor does such an amazing job that you honestly can’t tell that there is any kale in the bean salsa at all. Its a good way to hide it in your food from your kids and for some, from your husbands :). I have to say that my husband is the one who pushes us to eat more kale.

Next I peeled 4 big baker potatoes and added salt. I then tenderized 4 chicken breasts (you can use as much or as little chicken breast as you need).  I have to say that tenderizing the chicken is very cathartic, a good way to relieve some stress (you must try it if you haven’t already). Next I sliced the tenderized breasts into strips and seasoned them with salt. I then took out 3 bowls, put bread crumbs in one, flour in the second one and 3 eggs beaten into the third. I took one strip placed it into the flour (the chicken coats easier if you use your hands), then with a fork I placed it into the egg wash (making sure I covered the chicken well), then with another fork I placed it into the bread crumbs (again making sure I coated the chicken well). I use forks for the second and third parts to keep my hands from getting completely goopy. Continue this until all chicken pieces are coated. I then placed some Canola oil in a deep frier at 350 degrees. Once the oil was warm, I fried the french fries. Once they were a nice light golden brown color I removed them. Continue until all the potatoes are done. Then I proceeded to fry the chicken, again until they were a nice light golden brown color.

So here you have it, a healthier version of McDonald’s made at home.

One would think that since my son adores McDonald’s nuggets and fries that he would have devoured his dinner, but sadly no. I swear if I would have put the fries in a McDonald’s box he probably would have eaten it. Seriously I don’t get it. But hey I tried, and my husband and I sure enjoyed dinner.

To end this blog I would like to discuss my love of wedges, as in shoe wedges. I love when Spring arrives because that means I can take my wedges out of hiding. Why do I love them? I love them because they are comfortable, versatile (you can wear them with shorts, skirts, pants, dresses, cropped pants and jeans) and sexy. Below are 3 wedges that I love to wear.

The first one is a pair that I wear all year around. They are great paired with a trouser jean or skirt. This one is from Aldo.

The second one is a pair that I like to wear with dresses or skirts. Its very comfortable and is my husband’s favorite, especially paired with a dress. Also from Aldo.

The last one is wedge that I wear with everything. What I like about it the most is that it isn’t too high so I can wear them while I’m out with my son. This one is from Steve Madden.

May this blog inspire you to try your own version of nuggets and fries, add some kale into your diet and add a fun flirty wedge to your shoe collection (I promise you won’t be disappointed).

Happy Friday everyone!! May you enjoy the Olympics and your weekend 🙂

About Vodka Infused Lemonade

I am mother to a toddler boy. I am wife to an amazing husband. I am perinatal nurse. I have found a new hobby of cake and cupcake decorating. You can see my work on Facebook at Agi's Creations. I love fashion, books, music, travel, food and anything to do with kids.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

